The Geek Inside Me

in #travel6 years ago

There's always that part of me on the inside that reminds me so much of my childhood days. The geek inside me never left and is always there to remind me of what kind of person I was back then. I'm not so sure if I'm gonna be proud to say that a geek high school student me shifted to be part of the mainstream guys in school. I wanted to make my world different at some point and there's no regret. Given, the geek inside me never left. :)

Although, I don't really consider myself as pure geekish or if that word even exist. I was simply a geek on specific things only, not that total geek. I would geek out on books specifically those fictions about Greek Mythology and extraterrestrial and stuff. I would collect fandom items about 'em, too. I am forever and will always be a Potterhead (Yes, I call myself Potterhead). I would obsess about collecting books of Twilight, Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Percy Jackson, and books of Rick Riordan, Bob Ong (support local, we rock), Stephenie Meyer, JK Rowling, John Green, Claudia Gray, Pittacus Lore, Nicholas Sparks - Ghad I can't stop mentioning all of their names and I'd love to complete my list but this will totally take too long so I'll just put "etc" to cut it short now, etc.

I would defend myself that I'm not that of a total bookworm but, yeah I can't, because I am. Above all those things I mentioned, would you believe that I'm not really into movies. Ironic, isn't it? I love reading books, I'm a big fan yes! But movies? Naah. I know it's weird - I'm weird, but I assure you there are a lot of things much weirder about me than that. I'd give examples, but no.

Fan Meet-and-Greet: Osric Chau and Yoshi Sudarso at the DC Cafe
I'm not sure if this is a confession, but something inside me made me want to write this after a recent fan meet-and-greet I've attended.

Do you guys know Osric Chau from the ongoing Supernatural TV series? Were you a fan of Power Rangers, too, when you were a kid?

I recently met Osric Chau and Yoshi Sudarso at the DC Cafe (isn't it cool they held their meet-and-greet at the DC Cafe?! I mean, who does that?! It was almost like going to Comicons) Anyways, I got into a real crazy fangirling mode! Yoshi Sudarso starred as the dino charge blue ranger of the Power Rangers Dino Charge 2015-2016. Meeting him was so amazing! I love Power Rangers, it shaped my imaginations when I was a kid. And then there's Osric Chau. He's one of the characters I cried over a dozen times in the Supernatural TV series. His character taught me so many significant lessons I would never forget. Meeting them in person is way cooler than just watching them in movies.

So yeah, just wanted to share to you guys my experience that made the geek inside me go all geekish again. I created a vlog about it, so if you guys wanted to check it out I'll link it below.

To all my fellow Gryffindors, geeks and fangirls/fanboys out there, our world rocks! Continue doing what you want, obsessing about what you love, collecting items of what you like, because the world is way cooler with geeks in it. We rock! \m/

  • FanGirl/Potterhead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31