Two weeks in Israel

in #travel7 years ago

Three years ago I took the opportunity of a lifetime to go to Israel on a free two week trip. The biggest catch?

I would be going with a group of 20 -something-year-old's like myself from all over the United States. Anyone who read my #introduceyourself blog knows how I live with anxiety and everything about this trip fueled that anxiety! I would be traveling over 6,000 miles across the Atlantic with a group of strangers. Why does that sound that fun? I had to breath for a moment and think of all the positives that definitely outweighed the potential negatives.

For those of you unfamiliar with Israel, let me start off by saying that I hope you visit this beautiful destination at least once in your lifetime. Secondly, it is about the size of New Jersey, meaning if you plan correctly you can tour the entire state of Israel during your vacation. Thirdly, it is important for me to say how media outlets around the world get it wrong most of the time when reporting on the Jewish state. Let me show you why.

Anyone that travels to Israel will end up at the Western Wall in the Old City of Jerusalem at some point. A few days into our trip we did too. I am not a very religious person but I consider myself very spiritual. I am a firm believer in God (or a higher power if you will) and when I touched this ancient limestone wall, I heard God for the first time.

10885224_1423624167928471_6767058573226482898_n.jpg

There were many other firsts for me on this trip...

The next would be our adventure to meet the Bedouin people. I slept on a mat on the desert floor, I ate with my hands, and heard the amazing history of the Bedouins.

10428077_10152708231165852_6892142398185121384_n.jpg

10273407_2712803339267_4640393608035106812_n.jpg

Another stop would be at the Bahá’í gardens in Haifa. A must see for anyone planning a trip to Israel!

10416611_2712764938307_2626344308943466184_n.jpg

I walked down ancient streets and alleyways with a group of people I no longer considered strangers but brothers and sisters.

10896942_2716421389716_5846493350507466257_n.jpg

This trip happened three years ago and I am still so close with the people I met during this adventure. I felt this incredible energy while I was there and anyone who reads this looking for an experience of a lifetime, I encourage you to take a trip to Israel.

I would love to hear from anyone who has been to Israel or plans on visiting. Also, let me know if you have any questions about my trip to the Jewish state. I can't wait to hear from you.

If you enjoyed this little story about my trip feel free to follow me and read about more adventures!

-Cheers

Sort:  

I was in Israel a couple of months ago... Great place.. Great food and great people...! I will visit it again for sure :)

So happy to hear from you! I would love to go back again. Going to Israel ruined Shawarma for me. It's just not as good here in the states. Haha

:) Sabich was the best for me! I also still have places that I didn't visit.. Like the desert and dead sea!
I also stayed at a Kibutz :D
The landscape is cool because it's a mixture of everything.. People have similar mentality to Greek one but it feels to me that they are more friendly and polite..
And of course Tel Aviv is an awesome city, beautifull with great vibe 24/7...
Super expensive though except the public transportation witch is kinda cheap.. A nice place to make new friends :)

Did you go through a Birthright organization? That is how I was able to go. We stayed on a few kibutz-- That was such a cool experience!!

No, I am not Jewish.. I am Greek.. I was just solo traveling :)

That's awesome! I also didn't get to go to the dead sea. I was totally bummed. I went in the winter and there was storm on the day we were supposed to go. Next time right?? :)

Yes! That is the plan :))

Great post and photo's!! We visited Israel in 2015 on a 10 day tour. We saw so many amazing places, including the Dead Sea and Masada!! If you go back, definitely visit these. Cheers!!

Thank you!! Masada was wonderful!! I have some really cool pictures from there as well. So happy to hear from you and your trip to one of my favorite places!

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing

Thank you!

Photos are breathtaking, especially the Haifa one :)

It is even more breathtaking in person, glad you share the sentiment. Thank you for reading!

Great post, oh yes the media works as another form of indoctrination, yes Israel gets a raw deal like any good place or truthful event would, it sure has been an amazing transformation from the wasteland it used to be before ww2. Clearly the land is now rejoicing with it' people.

It is amazing the transformation that has been made. It really is the land of milk and honey. So glad to hear from you. :)

B"H! Beautiful post and sentiments, thanks for sharing! Followed :)

Congratulations @simkat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to Steemit @simkat

Nice of you to join us, it is a honour having you on this platform.

You can participate in the 50 Word Story Contest for new steemians for a chance to win Big.

Wow, that is really cool! Definitely going to submit something. :) Thanks

The country is nice and so are the people. The actions of the government and the elite there is questionable, a little more questionable than some other governments.

No government is without faults, that is for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57978.54
ETH 2283.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47