Travel story: Backpacking to Go Living in the Wooden Cabin

in #travellast year

I had always been enchanted by the mystique of Turkey, with its vibrant culture, rich history, and breathtaking landscapes. As I landed in Antalya, I could already sense the magic in the air. The sun-kissed beaches, the ancient ruins, the bustling bazaars - all beckoning me to explore and discover. I was eager to begin my journey and was filled with anticipation for what lay ahead.

20220410_084548.jpg

My first destination was the beautiful coastal town of Kas. As I took the bus from Antalya to Kas, I was struck by the stunning scenery around me. The rugged coastline, the turquoise waters, the towering mountains in the distance - all creating a picturesque backdrop for this charming town. When I arrived in Kas, I was immediately captivated by its charm. The narrow streets lined with colorful houses, the bustling harbor filled with boats, and the friendly locals all added to its beauty.

20220410_084554.jpg

As the night approached, I found myself in need of a place to rest my head. I decided to camp under the stars as it is my usual preference. As I set up my blue colored tent, I marveled at the stillness of the night. The were sounds of the gentle lapping of the waves and the distant chirping of crickets. I drifted off to sleep, dreaming of the adventure that awaited me.

20220410_080330.jpg

20220410_080339.jpg

One of the things that made my camping experience in Kas particularly memorable was the vibrant atmosphere of the town. Despite it being late at night, there was a pub nearby that was still open and playing lively music well into the early hours of the morning. The locals were friendly and welcoming, and I found myself chatting with them late into the night, learning about their lives and their experiences living in this beautiful part of Turkey.

As I drifted off to sleep in my tent, I could hear the distant sounds of music and laughter drifting over the sea breeze. It was a surreal and magical experience, and it reminded me of the joys of traveling and exploring new places. I felt grateful for the opportunity to be immersed in this unique and wonderful culture, and I was eager to see what other adventures awaited me in Turkey.

20220410_081237.jpg

In addition to the beautiful scenery and lively atmosphere of Kas, the town is also home to some fascinating ruins that offer a glimpse into the area's rich history. One of the most notable ones is the Lycian Trail, an ancient pathway that winds through the rugged mountains and valleys of the region. The trail is said to have been used by traders and travelers dating back thousands of years, and it is still accessible today for those who wish to explore the ruins and immerse themselves in the history of this fascinating place.

20220410_080331.jpg

As I hiked along the Lycian Trail, I felt a deep sense of awe and reverence for the generations of people who had walked these same paths before me, and I was reminded of the timeless beauty and mystery of the world around us.

20220410_085948.jpg

The next morning, I was greeted by my host, a wonderful woman who had invited me to help her build an earthbag house in the mountains. But before that I went to some nice café to have a breakfast. I asked if they have internet or electricity to use for my laptop to check my email and messages. They didn't and sat down anyway, order breakfast and was using the most of the low battery I had on my laptop and my phone internet to check that everything on my normal work is in order before heading to somewhere off grid. I figured that internet would not be very good up in the mountains. The guy sitting there approached me and we had a nice talk and I invited to my home country and we exchanged emails. He had just came down from the Lycian trail and gave me some good advises. Pointed out to me very heavy backpack and the fact that it was not good and would heart my back. Then we said goodbye and I left to meet my host and short employer to build the house.

As we drove up, she stopped at a spot where water hoses were available, and she gave me bottles to fill as we were going off the grid. The drive up to the mountains was as breathtaking as it was treacherous, but the stunning views made the journey worthwhile.

20220410_113848.jpg

Upon reaching the site, I was introduced to the concept of an earthbag house. I was amazed by the ingenuity of using simple materials like sandbags, clay, and barbed wire to create a sturdy and eco-friendly dwelling. Over the next few days, we worked tirelessly to build this incredible structure, using our bare hands and a lot of sweat and determination. As we built, we talked and laughed and shared stories, and I felt a sense of camaraderie and belonging that I had never experienced before.

20220411_092743.jpg

At the end of each day, I would retire to my cozy wooden cabin. It was small, but it had everything I needed - a bed, a desk, and a window that opened up to a stunning view of the mountains. The nights were chilly, but I was warmed by the glow of the stars above and the fire in my heart. I felt as though I was living in the very same cabin that Jack Kerouac had described in his book "Dharma Bums," and I felt a deep connection to the natural world around me.

20220412_073004.jpg

The days went by in a blur of hard work and breathtaking scenery. We toiled under the hot sun, our hands caked in clay, but we were driven by a sense of purpose and passion. And in the evenings, we would sit by the fire, sipping tea and swapping tales of our travels and adventures.

The wooden cabin I stayed in during my time in the mountains of Kas was a truly unique experience. It was a small, rustic structure made entirely of wood, with a single room that served as both a bedroom and living area. The cabin was situated on a hillside, overlooking a vast expanse of mountains and valleys, and the view was absolutely breathtaking.

20220411_080637.jpg

The cabin was simple, yet cozy. It was furnished with a comfortable bed, a small desk, and a few shelves for storing my belongings. The walls were lined with rough-hewn planks of wood, and the ceiling was made of sturdy timber beams. There was a small window that looked out onto the mountains, and I spent countless hours gazing out at the stunning vista.

20220410_184742.jpg

It was was completely off the grid, which meant that there was no electricity or running water. Instead, I used a small oil lamp for light, and I had to fetch water from a nearby stream to wash and drink. It was a bit challenging at first, but I soon got used to this simple way of life. In fact, I found that it was incredibly refreshing to be disconnected from technology and modern conveniences for a while.

20220411_080640.jpg

It was also quite rustic, with no heating or air conditioning. This meant that the temperature inside fluctuated with the weather outside, and some nights were quite cold. However, I was provided with plenty of blankets and warm clothing, so I was always comfortable. I also found that the chilly nights were a great excuse to curl up with a good book or spend time writing in my journal.

One of the things I loved most about living in this cabin was the sense of peace and solitude it provided. The only sounds were the rustling of leaves, the chirping of birds, and the occasional bleat of a nearby goat. I felt completely removed from the hustle and bustle of modern life, and I was able to focus on the natural beauty around me.

20220411_092749.jpg

The experience of living in the wooden cabin was incredibly unique and rewarding. It allowed me to disconnect from the world and immerse myself in the natural wonders of Turkey. It was a reminder that sometimes, the most simple and basic things in life can be the most fulfilling.

Despite the rustic nature of my accommodation, I had my trusty laptop with me during my time in the mountains of Kas. While I was there to work on a volunteer project building an earthbag house, I also needed to check in on my professional responsibilities from time to time. I dedicated two hours each day to work on my laptop, taking breaks in between to soak in the stunning view of the mountains.

Working from the cabin wasn't always easy, however. The internet connection was spotty at best, and I often had to wait for several minutes for a single page to load. But despite these challenges, I found that the experience was incredibly rewarding. It forced me to slow down and be patient, to take my time with my work, and to really appreciate the beauty around me.

20220412_083134_001.jpg

In those moments when I wasn't working on my laptop, I spent hours simply gazing out at the mountains. The view was truly awe-inspiring, with jagged peaks reaching up towards the sky and lush green valleys stretching out as far as the eye could see. I felt as though I was in the midst of a living painting, and I was grateful for the opportunity to witness such natural beauty.

Overall, while the internet connection was not great, it did not detract from my experience. In fact, it added to the sense of adventure and exploration, and it allowed me to disconnect from the distractions of the modern world and truly immerse myself in the stunning landscape of Turkey.

20220411_080645.jpg

After a few days, I had to leave for Datca, a beautiful city I visited several times already. I had some friends there to meet. But as no one would leave for the town, I had to walk down 30 KM. Therefore, I aimed to wake up early in the morning to start my 30 KM of walk down to KAS again.

20220410_084057.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26