Spotted: My first Otter in the Wild [English]

in #travel7 years ago

Dear Determinists,

page26_Fotor.jpg

roughly a week after I published the german translation of this 'Phill from GCHQ' episode, which features a shaving otter, I suddenly saw my first real life otter in the wild.

There's probably a reason for that ...

IMG_5898_Fotor.jpg

After we visited the open-air bath at the 'Steinbach Dam' in the german 'Eifel' this weekend, we saw an otter cozily swimming in a pond. Unfortunately I only had my mobile at hand, so I wasn't able to zoom in.

But I made a short video for evidence, that I blew up digitally at the end. Here it is:

And here are some public domain images from pixabay for comparison:

sea-otter-1405970_1280.jpg

sea-otter-1432794_1280.jpg

sea-otter-1992876_1280.jpg

In an issue of of the german nature magazine 'GEO mini', which is for kids, we found some more information about otters:

Otters are slackers - that actually tells all about those predators. The whole blessed day they're floating with their back in the water and chill. Between the hair of their dense fur they're storing air, which keeps them on the surface of the water - like a built-in air mattress. [...] Their slogan: Only straining, if it yields into something edible.

On that note, I'm wishing you a relaxing week!

@shortcut

Sort:  

Excellent.

Their slogan: Only straining, if it yields into something edible.

How is "shaving" yielding anything edible? ;-)

I guess, that's what @katharsisdrill needs to explain ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70