Around the Lagoa das Sete Cicadas, Azores, Portugal - A twin-lake in the crater of a volcano.

in #travel7 years ago

Today I will show you the area around the Lagoa das Sete Cicadas (Portuguese for "The lagoon of the seven cities".

It's not perfectly legal to camp here but I think that this rule is made to prevent mass-camping. All locals I've asked told me to just do it. As long as you do not leave rubbish it's fine. Especially for a single person who doesn't create any noise besides the clicking of his camera and the friction of his lighter.

So after arrival I started to walk towards the left - the blue side of the lake. It's actually one lake connected by a strait. The plants in the water on the green part makes that the water reflects the light in green.

The legend says that once there was a king who lived only for his daughter after his wife died. Her name was Antília and he didn't let her speak to anyone and restricted her movements to the castle and the garden. Few ever saw her but the ones who did saw a beautiful young woman who would have attracted the attention of every boy in the kingdom.

Besides the king she was raised by an old woman who was a nurse. One day the king had a nap and with the help of the nurse she escaped to the local hills and valleys where she listened to a young shepard playing the flute in the most wonderful way.

After several times of secretly listening to the boy he found her behind the bushes and they laughed and started to enjoy each other's company. Soon after he asked her if she would like to marry him.

A bit insecure but determined he walked to the castle and asked the king for permission. The king - bad-tempered as always -expelled the boy from the castle after refusing the marriage.

Antília decided to visit the boy a last time to tell him that she wasn't allowed to see him anymore. Both cried the whole afternoon and the tears of her - she had green eyes - formed the green lake. The eyes of the boy were blue and his tears formed the blue lake.

My sleeping place of the first night:

Video after setting up the tent:

I bought a good bottle of wine called Terras de Lava (as shown in the video). It's from the island of Pico and no machines were used for harvesting:

(Browse to https://www.picowines.net/vinhos.php for additional information)

After waking up I walked back to the village for writing, coffee and Bafina (pork meat with bread) and to visit the small market:

I was already late after I finished the post before this one and the weather wasn't looking good. Drops of rain and me in the middle with no place to hide. On the way I crossed the bridge which divides the blue and the green lake.

Both lakes on a panorama pic:

The green lake:

The blue lake:

My plan was to find a sleeping spot next to the green lake but instead I went again to the blue part. I don't remember exactly why I changed the plan - no wait - I guess it was because on the green part were some houses which I didn't want to pass in order to avoid being seen.

I crossed the meadows and luckily there were no cows. At the very end I tried to climb the hill where the trees are. Nope.. Far too steep and full of rocks and wood.

I found a tiny path, crawled under an electric wire for shocking animals who want to pass and set up the tent.

The next morning I walked back to the village and saw this nice place:

I love cows:

That was it. Now I already had 2 coffees, a Bifana and a coke. See you next time for more stories and pics from the Azores.
I am not sure where to head next. Will it be the hot swimming pools of Furnas or the Lake of fire?

You will find out soon, laters,

Sort:  

Wow!
Wonderful @shla-rafia!
Love it!

Nice place to be dude !! Did you do some fishing? enjoy ! 100 % upvoted from @chanthasam

Good that you're asking! I didn't fish but the fish here are from time to time jumping out of the water. So at night you can here "splash" "splash" :)

Oh really? If I'm over there, I will catch a lot of fish already to make BBQ.

I just met a new friend who is a spearfisher. Diving up to 25 meters without oxygen bottle. This man has a license compared to the other friend I met in 2000 :P This reminds me of something: Fuck the Guardia Civil in Spain, fascist pigs slapped my friend in the face to find out where he got his hashish from. that's now a bit off-topic, anyway, you will get your fish, that's guaranteed.

That beautiful

I h0pe I can find this wine 0ut here.
Thx

Thank you for your information I vote you plz you interested in nature and tourism visit my page to support me thanks again

Don't forget to vote! No money for non-voters =D

Niceee! Green lake view and climbing up the green hill! Only man and nature ho-ho!
I hope mosquitoes didn't disturb you too much :D
And little mr.calf lol
And a bottle of vine ofc.. perfect

I killed 1 mosquito after trying to catch him and get him out of the tent peacefully. May he rest in peace. 750000 people die each year from mosquitos. 400000 die because of humans. I wonder if all the mosquitos are calculated in the numbers cause I think that far more than 400000 mosquitos die from the hand of the man, anyway.. :)

Rest in peace poor little thing. Amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86