Why I Want to Leave The US

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I’m currently living in Phoenix, Arizona, and I love a lot of things about living here. Some of my closest friends are here, it’s rarely cold, the scenery is beautiful, and there’s never a shortage of things to do. The weather is usually gorgeous and I take advantage of it by mountain biking and hiking on dozens of trails that are just minutes from home. I can drive twenty-five minutes and be on a lake paddleboarding, yet in the winter, a ski resort is just a two-hour drive away. That being said, I think the benefits of leaving the US outweigh those for staying.

Why I Want To Expatriate

Economic Outlook

I steadfastly believe the economic system as we know it is completely unsustainable. With record debts and massive bubbles throughout the economy, the future looks bleak. When the house of cards comes crashing down, it’s doubtful I (or anyone else for that matter) will want to be around.

Entitlement

The feeling of entitlement is a disease that’s spreading like the plague in the US. Record numbers of people are collecting welfare and food stamps. People used to come here seeking freedom and opportunity, now many of them come here looking for handouts instead. Being around people who think they deserve something for nothing is mentally draining. I want to see people with motivation, work ethic, and passion, which I feel is lacking here.

Disassociate from the atrocities of the US government

For years, the US government has had a detestable foreign policy. They go around the world acting like they know what’s best for everyone, and millions have died from their actions, be it sanctions or wars. These people aren’t just numbers either; they were real people, with real families, and real friends, all of whom suffered a tragic loss. I want nothing to do with the government’s abhorrent activities.

Taxes

The US has some of the highest taxes in the world along with an incredibly complex and convoluted 70,000-page tax code. Additionally, every year I spend a week or two sorting through mountains of paperwork to file taxes for my business. It is a total waste of time and resources.

Nationalism

A friend told me he didn’t like Sydney Crosby (professional hockey player). I asked him why and my friend replied: “Because he’s not from the US.” I said Let me get this straight, you don’t like him because he was born on the other side of an arbitrary imaginary line? That is possibly the dumbest reason I have ever heard dislike someone. Similar nationalistic fervor consumes many Americans.

What's next?

The world is a huge place, and I’ve only encountered a small portion of it; I want to explore while I’m still young. To learn new languages, immerse myself in different cultures, and see things from other people’s perspectives. I hope to do things I’ve never done before, see stuff I’ve never seen, and experience things most US residents never will.

After traveling and finding the most enjoyable places, I want to live in a home on the ocean for less than the cost of my apartment in Phoenix. Wake up in the morning, and sit on my patio while a read a book and listen to waves crashing onto the shore. Then head to the market where I buy organic produce from the farmers who harvested them that morning.

Not everything will be “sunshine and roses,” and I will certainly dislike some places I visit. However, you never know what you’ll like until you do it.

Although she wants to travel and explore, my girlfriend @sharingeverybite isn’t fully on the same page. I hope we eventually find a place we both love and can make work. We’re trying to attend Steemfest in Amsterdam, and hopefully, that will be a prelude to many future journeys.

Sort:  

As much as I love Phoenix, AZ and the USA I have to say you have some good points. I hope you find whatever it is you're looking for :) I mean that in all sincerity.
Also, this (time stamp 1:05).

If your girlfriend gets on board, let us know where you're going, and maybe we will follow.

I can only imagine the great Steemit posts we could all collaborate on. :)

Agreed.

Are you in then?

Depends on where we're going! 😋

Ok, that will be what I use to decide too then...

Let me know!

I feel the same was as well, especially when you touch on the entitlement issue. I've met families that our second generation 100% welfare dependent that our in their 20's and 30's. Well I guess it depends on the climate you're looking for. @gamgam mentioned Australia, that sounds amazing. I like the Abaco Islands myself but there is no change of seasons there, just palm trees and hammocks.

Interestly...this photo could be a blue horse shoe if you look at it just right.

I've been learning Spanish and looking at some places with a low cost of living because I want an affordable place on or near the beach. For instance, various places in Mexico or Spanish speaking parts of Central/South America. I'll check out the Abaco Islands, it looks amazing!

You may want to consider the west coast of BC, especially the beautiful small towns along the coast an hour or two north of Vancouver, and within an hour's drive of Whistler and Pemberton (if you enjoy skiing). I also like the grass roots atmosphere of the Gulf islands -- Saltspring, Gabriola, etc. I have friends who took early retirement and now live quite well in Belize. There is a significant number of Australians here in the southwest area of BC, many of them working the ski hills or attending university in Vancouver. Based on what I've heard from friends who spent a year-long sabbatical in New Zealand, it's a wonderful place to live but work is scarce. Good luck with wherever you decide to live!

Thanks for the tips. I'm mainly looking at places with a low cost of living.

Steemfest! Right?!
Looking forward to meet you there!

Likewise, we hope to make it!

You should come to Australia! I just moved here, from Norway, and it is fantastic!!:)

I would really like to check it out sometime soon.

shenanigator, Great post and I feel the same. We are seeing the downfall of the US before our eyes. Following

It's appreciated, thanks.

I completely agree with your point of view. The idea of getting family started here in US is a bit frightening really. If you want to see the work, yes, go do it. Nothing is good or bad but by comparison. I'd suggest North Europe ( Finland, Norway ) you'd be blown away, seriously :)

Thanks for the suggestions. What about that area do you like?

@shenanigator, are you familiar with Jeff Berwick of The Dollar Vigilante whale fame? He lives in Mexico and he could prove to be a wealth of information regarding Latin America at least, @thedollarvigilante. There is also @hilarski of Panama who seems to be willing to assist those interested in making that move. Another group called Plan B Panama was out there as well. All the best. Cheers.

You are preaching to the choir. I love the U.S. but one thing that really bugs me is, you never really own 'your' property. You could pay your house off and you will still have to pay property taxes.

So lame.

Agree with u. I want to leave US too. which country would u move to?

I've been learning Spanish and looking at some places with a low cost of living. I'd like to be able to work online and maybe have a nice home on or near the ocean. For instance, various parts of Mexico or Spanish speaking parts of Central/South America. It's incredible what kind of property you can get for your money in some of these places!

However, I'll have to explore and figure out what places I enjoy. Have you thought about where you'd like to live?

Central or South American or Mexico. Not Europe or Canada nor East Asia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05