Walking around in Covilha, Portugal - Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

As we continued our little walk through old and narrow streets of this hillside city, we saw more and more curious little side roads and buildings, ...

and stairways!


That ran up and between buildings, had we more time we could have seen what treasures they were too shy to share!


Many of the buildings looked quite old and in need of tlc, seems Covilha has seen more prosperous times.


I grabbed a snap of the narrowest apartments I have seen to date, four apartments side by side in this photo, count them! 1, 2, 3 and 4!


Close by there was a narrow stairway, right off the road that seemed to just end, I just had to go up.
It led us to the end of a street, a very narrow one, seemingly devoid of life. I took a little walk up to see more.


Guess they won't be using this doorway again for a while.


Different perspective, the street is so narrow the building feel all that much taller.


View from the top of the stairway, they really do seem to fit buildings in wherever they can!


After that we went back to to the road we were on and decided to turn right, and walk a little further down the hillside.

We happened upon these poor buildings, or at east what's left of them.


I can only imagine what led to these buildings being s neglected, that they finally collapsed.

We trudged further down, in the shade and cold, before spotting yet another stairway, which looked to lead back up to more or less where we had started.


Before taking it, I tried to get a picture of how tall buildings are built right at the edge, this does not quite capture the sheer height, looking up from the bottom.


The stairway led to another little back street, with a crazy incline. I decided to take a few shots, which Google photos transformed into a panorama for me. Just beautiful!

Heading back I spied another side street, this is taken from the road that runs parallel to the building on the right.

Finally I saw a passage that ran between and under buildings;


Such a strange sight.

At the bottom of the passage, the left had a door, and the right led off to somewhere else. Another builldig that's falling apart here too!

Heading back up the passage I grabbed a shot through someones gate at the neglected building. So sad to see this happen.


My eldest son waiting for me to come back so we can get somewhere warm!

And final photo;


These buildings are incredibly old! That's someone's floor!


All in all it was an icy cold day, but the walk around was enough to convince me that we need to go back and see more! The local tourism offices seem active, with regular hikes between the nearby towns.

Hope you enjoyed, if you did, here are some more post's I have made on Portugal, 


Walking around in Covilha, Portugal - Part 1 - More photo's
View from our verranda - winter has arrived - I kept wondering where this european winter is everyone talked about, then it came.
Steemit Photo Challenge #27 Autumn in Portugal - One of my favourite photo's that I took whilst walking around and exploring my neighbourhood

 

Sort:  

Theres something beautiful and calming about these old streets of Portugal.

Bah humbug! It should have a footer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64118.76
ETH 3519.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55