My week long vacation starts today!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

For the first time in over a year I will have a few consecutive days off work and I am looking forward to it quite a bit. I seem to be the kind of person who works full steem ( < see what I did there... ?) and only really stop when I am near burnout.

This works out great for my employer, not so good for me. Even now I am taking leave because if I don't I will lose the days. Oh and my wife would clobber me if that happened.

I have 20 days leave due to me, and am taking 5 days this coming week, then another 3 about a week and a half later. Why the gap?
If I spend too much time with no goal or purpose I get rougher than a bears ... on a bad day, so my wife suggested I split my leave up.

I am hoping to travel, locally, and see more of Porto, the beautiful city you see in the photo above.
That photo was taken at Festa de São João do Porto (Festival of St John of Porto) earlier this year, and is but one of many that I took that day and evening. Read more at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Festa_de_S%C3%A3o_Jo%C3%A3o_do_Porto if you are interested in the festival. I should do a post on that soon too and share some of the photo's.

Porto is a very beautiful city with so many old buildings, narrow side streets and curious things lurking therein. My wife and I walked around quite a bit at the festival and I want to repeat that, during the day on my leave.

The kids are both at holiday care so it's a great time for my wife and I to spend some time alone, doing stuff that would drive the kids up the wall, like going to museums, bus tours and literally just walking around.

So if you start seeing more posts about Porto, you know why 😀

Follow me!

Sort:  

It looks like people are squished in there like sardines in that photo! Yikes! My sister lives in Lisbon and it's busy, but not like that. I guess those are festival crowds though.
Have fun on your mini-vacation!

It was very packed by the food carts but there were places where the crowd thinned out.

I personally dislike large crowds but even I never felt overwhelmed.

The other times I have been to Porto it's been much quieter and it's genuinely a pleasure to walk around.

I definitely want to go there someday. So many people absolutely adore that city.

I hope you enjoy your time off!

Thanks! I am planning on enjoying my leave for once and forget about work for once 😀

i like your post my friend

Porto reminds me on 2004. when FC Porto played in final of UEFA league and win 3:0 against FC Monaco. Coach was Jose Murinho, main player Deco, and for Monaco played croatian player - Dado Prso : )

There must have been a huge party here. The Portuguese are absolutely soccer MAD!

Thank you for the vote. and incredible festa photo in Prutugal. I have been to the spain,but can not go the the porutugal. Someday I really wanna go P. Thank you for your great contents again.I am post about Japan in 3 language (in english,Japanese,Korean) to boost up Japanese steemit community in Tokyo. If you have any questions about Japan, Please let me know. I do my best to response with steemian especially. Good Luck with Steem. @steemitjp you can get inspiration with posting Regards David.

A friend of mine visited Japan many years ago. He can talk for days about how clean it is and how much care the Japanese seem to put into everything they do. He was even showing me photos of the sewer man hole covers that were incredibly ornate and very beautiful.

He loved Japan and I would like to visit it some day too.

Thank you for your reply..Yeah..japan is so clean country both of urban and rural area. If you come to japan, You can enjoy incredibly.

you did a good job , follow you and upvote you ! thanks for sharing !

Have fun

I followd uou and vote too..

amazing, its looks this picture ia. a rilecst,, good picturee like it

Congratulations @shaunmza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75