#Snowspell: Experience of an African man

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sight of snowfall is an experience that everyone would love to be part of, particularly travellers who come from countries where snow has never been spotted except hailstones. I am a Nigerian, I have never seen snowfall in my country. In recent time, I have been to the UK and have the opportunity to experience the four seasons in the UK. Let me quickly share a bit of my experience with what I will admit in my own opinion as heavy snowfall.

#At home in Swanley
6E35B56A-70FB-4539-8CD5-7E02529C1B55.jpeg
As exciting as having snow around can be, it also presents with its own challenges. It was strange for me as an African immigrant to realise that what suppose to be fun for all is actually a serious challenge for a lot of people. It was hard to drive cars on the hardened and slippery snow. Walking on the hip of snow was like walking on hip of sharp sand. For me those seeming challenges is much of fun. In my country rainfall with poor drainage system and muddy bad roads are the major contenders.

#Seeking alternative route to work
4D7ABDA0-B2E1-4C78-9918-49C665EA1164.jpeg
While the snow spell continues to rage, I had to get to work. Of course no serious minded employer would want to settle with any flimsy excuses. I got to the Swanley train station on this fateful day and to my utter dismay got the news of cancelled train schedules as a result of the bad weather. Thanks to the staff at the train station who had information of where to get connecting buses to a nearby train station. So I had to walk pass this lovely woods with serene environment; I wish I had a professional camera to catch the glimpse of this serene environment at that point in time. At long last, I got to work but very late. For me still, it was fun.

#Going home after work
5ED435E3-A8E2-435B-9099-8A03679A35EA.jpeg

After the close of work on this same day, I suffered similar issue compared to what happened in the morning. I felt strange, but I every country has got her peculiarities. For me, I felt carried away with excitement seeing that everywhere is almost turning white

#Going Shopping
3CC2DB65-2E7E-4FC1-A4E7-B203A763B7DA.jpeg

Despite the apparent hitches here and there as a result of the snow spell, shopping continues as usual at local shopping malls like ASDA and ALDI.

While in Nigeria before travelling, I only get to see snows on the tv and also hear from people who had been in places like Canada, the US, UK, Russia etc, but it was an experience that appeared real to me. I have read about avalanche of snow which is the worst case scenario of snow spell as it is considered to pose as a major disaster, it is better told than experienced.

Thanks for taking out time to read this piece of mine.

Sort:  

Congratulations @shadyflow! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shadyflow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55