Travels Through Morocco - The City of Fes, Part One

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Fes is unlike any city you've seen - prepare for an assault on the senses...

If you've been keeping up with my blogs over the last week, you'd have known that we had to say our farewells in Marrakesh as we were all going our separate ways. But after a one hour flight for Fes (which is incredibly cheap by the way!), I was back on my own in Fes. the first thing you instantly notice is the heat - it's unlike anything I've experienced, but a little cooler than Marrakesh. After a quick 30 minute taxi ride from the airport which cost about $3, I was outside the wondrous blue gate of Fes el Bali - Bab Bou Jeloud or the "Blue Gate". Surrounding me were donkeys transporting goods, sellers yelling at passers by, food stalls and people wandering about looking for a good deal. The city was alive.

Fes el Bai is the oldest walled part of Fes, which is made up of thousands of narrow alleyways which made up the ancient medieval city and is now a hub of markets, stalls, mosques and sights. And by thousands, I mean THOUSANDS of alleyways. I recommend Maps.me for offline maps when visiting any country, but I promise you this will not help you here. There are about 9,400 alleyways winding and twisting through Fes el Bali, some leading to dead ends and others bringing you back to where you came. Lots of locals will ask for money in return for showing you to your destination - be wary of this too. They will ask for almost 50 Dirhams (about £4 or $5) to show you a short way, and will most likely ask for more when you get there. As with any city, I recommend you explore and see the sights for yourself. But in Fes, a lot of people will hassle you so don't be afraid to politely say no and walk away.

With this in mind, I made straight to the nearest restaurant and I sat with my bag up on a balcony eatery overlooking the Blue Gate due to the intense heat. And of course, I went for my favourite Peppermint Tea straight away for only 10 Dirhams which is ridiculously cheap! Afterwards, I made my way to the hostel (pictured) which was a very cool classic Riad with a central living space. Be ready for amazing views of Fes in my next post which will feature the streets and markets of this beautiful city, please follow to keep up!

The City of Fes, Morocco


0408-2018-1207864345761962601.jpeg

0408-2018-1205864343482572103.jpeg

0408-2018-1207864345078755294.jpeg

0408-2018-1209864347647452792.jpeg


My hostel, Dar Rabha

0408-2018-1206864344355419025.jpeg


Details
🌏 | Fes, Morocco
📷 | Samsung S8
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through Morocco and I'll be share with you my thoughts, feelings, tips and warnings about visiting each place along the way. Being a photographer, I will be doing this while sharing my photos with all of you too! I sincerely hope you all enjoy.

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my travel through this wonderful country <3

Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.

Sort:  

lovely sunshine

Lovely sunshine indeed

Its been sunny every day so far

if it's a city of fes, so
it's a city of light
a_beautiful_night_view_of_adnan_asims_karachi_city-_also_mazar-e-quaide28094_the_mausoleum_is_viewable_in_the_picture.jpg

nice view

Gorgeous place.

Amazing view. Do you live there?

yes i'm living here

Nice travel, i didnt know fes could be that cheap, putting it on my travel list asap. Always love travelling to beautiful destinations that are less popular, the locals are usually more genuine and friendly hehe.

What do you think would be the must brings for a trip there? I was thinking sun lotion, hats, and sunglasses?

Yep all those things, it can get very hot there for sure.

Nice photography..
I'm glad to read about this beautiful African country, courtesy of post..
Hope you enjoying your time in Morocco.

Glad you enjoyed the post and hope you learned something a little too!

I love your photo work. You combine architecture and people there

As with any place the architecture is as important as the people who live there. Glad you enjoyed <3

Tea with mint is exceptionally delicious

Yeah, it really is. Great for the digestive system too!

Beautiful country.

It really is. Go visit if you get a chance.

Congratulations @seetheworld.sgp! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

beautiful pictures....

Amazing scenery and amazing photo work. The composition is great, the light and colors are beautiful

Thanks so much @ykdesign, really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44