A journey in Asia - China: Datong

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

Even if my first post was... quite a flop, I am continuing posting about my discoveries in Asia. 

Today's one is all about Datong 大同, a northern city in Shanxi, infamously known for the coal mining and to be one of the most polluted cities.

When I landed there, I was suprised that is no more a truth. The efforts made from the last decade if not more, has paid.

The ambiance has a taste of zen, it is everywhere.

The Huayan Temple.

What's left from "The nine-dragon" wall.

Yungang Grottoes

The hanging monastery

Datong city has the same look than Xi'an (wall, drum and bell towers), in little.

What I like more it is... quiet... peaceful...

There are almost no tourists amongst foreigners and chinese, at each escapade, the place is yours.


Seb.


Photography and author by @sebastienc

Sort:  

Welcome @sebastienc. I hope you enjoy here as much as I do! Nice post, I will follow your account, please follow me at @rohitrajput.

Great pictures , you are lucky to be there !

very nice first post. looks like you have a decent adventures. I would assume this is china. Ive only been to china for a day.

Thank you ! China has many flavours, I am living in Beijing and that's something else. I will keep posting !!

how is Beijing compared to other parts of China? Hi Thank you for the vote. I appreciate each and every bit.

I've been to China once and explored 1 city. My friend was stuck in the airport for two hours because his pass ticket was on GMAIL, ohh lawwwddd

Beijing is more international that make it convenient for traveling. Also, that's a BIG city, I am surrounded by 21 million people...

Well done Seb! The pics you took are beautiful! Will definitely go there!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39