Off To The Land Of The Rising Sun – A Day Trip To Tsushima In Photos

in #travel8 years ago

Konnichiwa! こんにちは. Today I ventured off to the Japanese island of Tsushima and to the small fishing village of Hitakatsu.  

Traveling to this Japanese island from Busan South Korea is fast and cheap.  The island is only about 50KM from the Busan port and the village of Hitakatsu is about 75KM.  

There are a few different ferry services that offer trips daily.  I choose to use the Kobee line.  The fee is about $45USD and the trip only takes 1 hour and 10 minutes.

The ferry is powered by jet engine and rises up out of the water once up to speed and rides on hydrofoils making for a very smooth ride.  The cabin is very comfortable with big plush seats.

The village of Hitakatsu is rather small and fishing seems to be the main industry.  A short walk from the ferry terminal I found a trail leading up to a small Shinto shrine.

Up past the small shrine you get a good view of the village and the port.

I decided to rent a bicycle to ride through the village and to see what was outside the village.

Along the way I passed by many of the small fishing boats that are docked.  A short ride outside the village I found a nice park with excellent views of the sea.

Continuing my ride I found a beach and although it appeared that some rain might be headed my way I opted to ride down and check it out.

A small covered deck area was the perfect spot for lunch and to relax and enjoy the view.

So there I was relaxing and decided that perhaps I had an opportunity to make the first Steem It post from Tsushima.  With thunder off in the distance I decided to take one last shot and ride back into the village and to find a safe place to write this short little post about my day in Tsushima.

Hope you enjoyed it.

Until next time,

Scott

Sort:  

Nice to meet you Tsushima! Thank you @scottrok ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01