Thando the Scienceguy goes Marion Island bird censusing

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Steemians,

I'm back!

During the month of August we went around the whole of Marion Island (which I described in my first post here) to census three different bird species, the Crozet Shag, the lesser sheathbill and active Gentoo penguin nests.

Crozet Shags

A Crozet Shag following its braver friend

Good exercise

During the round the island we walked the whole 72 km of coast line so to not miss any bird colonies. This took us a week to complete since the island is not easy to walk on.

Thando hiking

That's me!

Thando hiking

As you can see, it's not easy terrain for hiking

What's not to love about these birds?

Crozet Shags

Crozet Shags

Crozet Shags

More Crozet Shags on the rocks (please don't say that sounds like a drink).

Lesser sheathbill

A lesser sheathbill

Lesser sheathbills

More lesser sheathbills

Gentoo penguins

Gentoo penguins - one on eggs

Our plan for September

On our next tour around the island in September we will continue to monitor the Crozet Shags and the brooded and guarded chicks of Gentoo penguins, also adding a few more bird species for census. I look forward to showing you more about these fascinating birds as our work continues.

South Africa Steemit logo


Acknowledgments and disclaimer

All photos taken by Paige Potter.

Cool South African Steemit logo courtesy of @alainite.

Text and photos transmitted by Facebook Messenger to @kiligirl for conversion to a post. If any mistakes were inadvertently introduced it's entirely her doing 😉. Mild apologies due to Monty Python for the weak misuse of the rhythm of the title of their seminal work, "Ethel the Aardvark Goes Quantity Surveying".

Sort:  

Welcome back @scienceguy upvote from me and those beautiful pictures

Thank you, @sylejmanbajgora. I really appreciate your support.

Lovely informative share, what a luck guy you are @scienceguy working in remote places doing what you love.

Will definitely follow to find out more, learn more through the lens of your camera and what you do. Live and love the outdoors and all living creatures.

Thank you so much, @joanstewart. I really appreciate it.

I don't know why but I like the way they look with that blue eyes. Pretty unique.

Those sheathbills are beautiful
Never heard of them before
Nice post

Thanks! Glad you like them. I think they're beautiful too. They can be naughty.

Great post, it must have been a great experience, thank you for sharing this with us.

Thank you, @rynow, it's been an amazing experience so far. I really appreciate you reading my post. It's tough to get the information out, so when I can put a post together I'm very happy.

Looks like an amazing place to go @scienceguy - you are lucky to be there

Totally amazing, @pandamama! Thank you for reading. I really appreciate it.

What an experience. I'd love to visit Marion Island. Thanks for sharing the pics.

It is an amazing experience. Our whole research team will be here for many months still, so I'll be posting more and giving you a better idea what the island is like.

These birds are super cute. I want to pet on them. You are so fortunate to be beside them. For me, my closest experience with birds were seagulls that flew past my cruise balcony.

Upvoted done hope u also dobMine

Thank you! I really appreciate it. Will check yours out.

Congratulations @scienceguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51