You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Asian Sunday week #22 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #travel6 years ago

There's a sad story behind this photo. This is the Yellow Bridge that connects the islands of Lembongan and Ceningan off the southeast coast of Bali. I took this photo in November of 2015. This bridge was made for pedestrians, bicycles, and motorbikes to cross between the two islands. When I walked across, there were some planks missing, and when a motorbike crossed with me, the bridge would sway. I wouldn't say I felt unsafe but it did give me pause. Sadly, in December 2016, the bridge collapsed killing 8 people. Apparently, the bridge was especially busy that day due to a Hindu festival. By March 2017, a bigger, better Yellow Bridge replaced the fallen one that thankfully is much safer and even includes bright lights for the nightfall. While it's heartbreaking that people lost their lives, I'm glad a better, safer bridge is now in place for the locals and tourists to cross the islands.
IMG_6690.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98