Nepal Diaries #4 - A Visit To A Buddhist Peace Pagoda Atop A Hill

in #travel6 years ago

This post is the final part of my travel post series about Pokhara, the city of lakes and mountains, which is the second largest city in Nepal and a really great place to live in, not just for its natural beauty but also for the people and the 'feel' of the place.

On the last day of my visit to Pokhara, I visited the Peace Pagoda on top of the Ananda Hill from where one can witness the city of Pokhara in its entirety. Not only that one can also gaze over the Himalayan range in the distance and the Phewa Lake down below.

The white pagoda is situated at a height of 1100 meters and is a symbol of peace, with several statues of Buddha. Below is an image of me standing in front of it. It was really a sight to behold.

0.jpg

Before visiting the pagoda, I had spent the morning cycling along the lakeside. As it was my last day there, I wanted to make complete use of it and so, I and my sister got up really early and rented two cycles and had a really fun time.

1.jpg

Thanks to @aishwarya for taking this really cool portrait shot of me trying to look cool on a bike. haha!

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

After we were done cycling, it was time to freshen up and make our way to the top of the Ananda hill. We took a car and quickly reached the top. But we were greeted with a very long stairway that we had to climb.

6.jpg

The climb was steep and I finally realized I needed to work out more often as I was getting tired way to fast. Or maybe it was because I had just spent an hour cycling. Who knows!

7.jpg

While climbing the stairs, you are greeted with some amazing views of the surrounding hills, the vegetation, some cool coffee shops, among other things.

8.jpg

This is one such beauty that was just waiting there to be appreciated. Immediately caught my eye and I had to take a shot of it.

9.jpg

Pokhara city, on the one side and the Phewa lake on the other.

10.jpg

There were these Buddhist prayer flags all around waving in the wind, purifying the surrounding air with positive energy, which they are believed to do. For me, it was the bright colors that caught my eye.

11.jpg

Another beauty of mother nature. Took a portrait shot of this which was just at the base of the Pagoda. I am amazed by the quality of the portrait photography of the iPhone X.

12.jpg

So, finally after a steep climb, we reached the place where this statue of Gautam Buddha was situated. Just being there made me more peaceful than I had been in days.

13.jpg

You can go around the stupa in two tiers and the entire railings and the walls were painted white which really made the whole surrounding very, very bright, almost to a point where we were not even being able to open our eyes properly.

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

This is the view of the famous Phew lake from up there.
17.jpg

Caught someone paragliding above a nearby hill and remembered my own paragliding experience just the day before.

18.jpg

Ok, so with this photo, we come to an end of my trip to Pokhara which I shall remember for a long, long time. I can't wait to go back there with my friends next whenever I get the chance. @firepower, @shenoy, @varunpinto, @aishwarya I'm looking at you guys :P

19.jpg

Sort:  

I guess It was wonderfull travel!)

Yes it was 😊

Cool post man! The view of the mountain and your awesome photos really made me smile tonight. You must have really enjoyed your time there.

I am glad my post could make you smile. Yeah, I really enjoyed myself :)

You always write something unique and have historical value.

Thank you so much ☺️

Man there's something Buddhism gets so right, something no other religion does. And if you remember our old talks, you'll know what I'm talking about.

Haha yeah, we have talked about this for countless hours and I totally agree :)

Hello my name is @ima98, I am new to this channel, I invite you to follow me in this community and generate a good friendship, see you soon

^--- You made this exact same comment at least 17 times in the last couple hours. View these duplicate comments

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

Plz don’t spam.

wow amazing picture @sauravrungta 😊

I just commented on @aishwarya's post and here I am reading a similar post just to realize that she is your sister and you had traveled together. Awesome place. Definitely adding it to my go to place. Srilanka too is on my cards. I saw you guys visited Srilanka too. Have to follow your footsteps.

Yeah, it really was an awesome place and you should check it out at least once.

wow very nice pic

amazing friends, peaceful atmosphere seen there and I can not imagine if I was there @sauravrungta

Oh yea, it was wonderful!

yes, i feel so comrade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44