Nepal Diaries #2 - Paragliding Over Phewa Lake

in #travel7 years ago

As I mentioned in the previous post which you can read here, I was really looking forward to the second day of my visit to Pokhara as I was about to be paragliding over the Phewa Lake, which has been something I have wanted to do for a long time.

After having some light breakfast (because I didn't want to throw up), I quickly made my way to the hotel where the paragliding crew were waiting for us. After discussing some matters with them, me along with my family, quickly got in their car which took us to the top of the Sarangkot hill.

For people who have lived their entire lives in plains, the climb would have been scary or even could have upset their stomachs, but since we have been habituated with the twisty roads in Nepal, it was actually quite fun!

0.jpg

I clicked a few photos as the car was making its way towards the top of the hill. The views of the city are always so amazing from any elevations.
1.jpg

This one gives you a little peak at the Pokhara city which is almost indistinguishable from the surrounding vegetation.
2.jpg

Here is one with the lake in the distance over which I was going to be paragliding. My excitement grew stronger, the higher the car made its way towards the top of the hill. Adventure sports really get me going!
3.jpg

Once we reached the top, we had to walk a little ways on foot as the car couldn't go any further. This was clicked by @aishwarya as I was making my way to the take off point.
4.jpg

As you can see in this one, I have the full gear on for the flight with my pilot in the background waiting for the wind conditions to be favorable enough for the flight. Meanwhile I was busy taking photos of my sister while she was busy taking photos of me! lol
5.jpg

So, finally we take off and as always it was an amazing feeling. This was the third time I was paragliding and so it didn't feel too overwhelming like it did the first time but the feeling of being airborne is always so ecstatic.
6.jpg

Bright red under the blue sky.
7.jpg

After about 10 minutes into the flight, we were finally making our way over the lake where it got really windy. The view was absolutely breathtaking which sent me to my 'philosophical mode' where I forget everything around me and go into deep thinking.
8.jpg

Isn't it so wonderful that we can do this? To fly above the ground like this from where people can't even be seen and even the houses look so tiny. For a few moments, all your troubles are left down on Earth while you glide happily with the wind.
9.jpg

Look at that body of water. So still. So calm. So peaceful. You really have to be there to appreciate the immensity of all that you feel. The fear of falling down is quickly overshadowed by feeling of liberation, which is one of the strongest ones a person can feel!
10.jpg

I needed something to post as an Instagram story, so I quickly clicked this! haha.
11.jpg

As I witnessed this view, these were the thoughts that were going around in my head: "This is it. This is what it means to be alive. Free of all worries. Free of expectations. Absolute joy and thrill. In the arms of mother nature. This is it."
12.jpg


13.jpg

Now comes the fun part, where the pilot suddenly decides to scare me with random (and quick) twists and turns in the air. Joke's on him. I actually enjoyed it!
14.jpg

At this point we were literally parallel to the lake and I felt like I was falling towards it. Oh what a great feeling it was. The wind was strong and the G forces were strong too!
15.jpg

This is another one where we were horizontal with the lake below. As you can tell from the expression on my face, I was having the time of my life.
16.jpg


17.jpg

After about 30 minutes of flight, it was finally time for us to land. All of it only felt like 5 minutes to me. Why do good times have to pass so fast!
18.jpg

A mandatory selfie with one of the most popular lakes in whole of Nepal!
19.jpg

I leave you with this panoramic shot of the Phewa lake. Ain't that beautiful? :)
20.jpg

Sort:  

The view is really spectacular, looks like you had a lot of fun!

I sure did :)

I looked for the rainbow in these photo frames.It's the only one missing.. Fly towards freedom, my friend !! @sauravrungta

haha, yeah, It would be awesome with a rainbow. :D

Then, in the near future, when you catch the rainbow... :)))) @sauravrungta

Wow!! This looks so exciting. I've been paramotoring and parasailing so far. Paragliding is yet to be covered. Amazing photographs you took. Makes me want to go paragliding right now 😅

Oh, if you have done paramotoring then it will feel the same. But it is definitely so much fun :D

I enjoy snorkeling, water sports, and paragliding. Very beautiful moment @sauravrungta.

Yeah, these are all fun activities. :)

More daring than I would be my friend.

haha, it's fun though :D

quite risky and adventurous!!!

Yup, for sure!

Nepal is one of the beautiful country in the world.I hope happen your happy travel and thanks for sharing beautiful moment

yes it is indeed :)

It's fascinating, but I'm reborn and I do not do that. It scares me very much. I love those pictures.

haha, it used to feel scary but now it doesn't. I guess I'm just habituated.

Waw amazing 😍
Beautiful scenery and your courage is amazing

Wow! What an adventure you had! I love Nepal and I am hoping to go back there someday!

Thanks! Yeah, it is a beautiful country. Will go again for sure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68