Reducing the Essentials: Minimalism For Real Life

in #travel7 years ago

Over the past 2 years, my husband and I have been on the road quite a bit. In 24 months, we’ve moved a half dozen times. Some would probably find that exhausting and overwhelming, but for us, it’s an energizing experience. We get to meet new people, experience different food, and explore new surroundings. In addition to learning about our new environment, we also get a chance to learn about ourselves. We’ve found that we are happiest in bigger cities, and prefer urban surroundings to rural ones. We’ve also learned that with each move, we discover what we really use and love and what we’ve been lugging around with no foreseeable need in sight.

I’ve learned to become resourceful and flexible. We are once again getting ready for a cross-country move and this time, I’m a wiser. I’ve learned a bit about reducing our “essentials.” I’ve decided to have a series of posts about reducing items in my every day life that some would consider essential. This is the first in the series.

There I was, sifting through my kitchen cupboards and drawers trying to decide what to keep and what to donate, when I saw a large bag of cookie cutters. As I grabbed the bag to pick out the snowflake and heart shaped cutters (the only ones that I ever use) I found a rolling pin hiding underneath.

It made me laugh. In the past several months whenever I have needed a rolling pin, I’d quickly look for one, and after not finding it, assume I had already donated it. It never really concerned me, and I’d just grab a drinking glass and roll out dough for making cookies, pie crusts, samosas, or Indian flat-breads.

Now that I had found my rolling pin, I had to decide what to do with it. Should I again pack it and lug it around? Did it make rolling out dough easier than using a glass? Not especially. In the past several months, the thought never even crossed my mind to purchase a new rolling pin.

In the end, I decided to donate the rolling pin. Perhaps if I rolled out dough on a more regular basis or entertained dinner guests regularly, it would have been a far more valuable kitchen tool. But for me, and my simple kitchen endeavors, it seemed like a bigger hassle to lug it around. I’ve realized that I’m the only person who can decide for myself what is essential. For you, a rolling pin may be essential, for me....not so much. What do you find essential in your kitchen? What could you easily do without? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63