You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Beginner’s Guide to Solo Mountain Trekking in Nepal (including Epic Scenery)

in #travel6 years ago

Amazing! As a solo traveler myself I comment in solidarity but, I stand in awe of your bravery to pursue such a feat of trekking in Nepal solo! I live in Sonoma, California, where many Sherpas live, a few who have summited Mt. Everest!

What do you think of the ban on solo trekking of Mt. Everest?

Thanks for this cool post! 🌄

Sort:  

@sarahvain thank you! It is actually much easier than it sounds - you meet people along the route and you're never more than a couple of hours walk from the next village! Although i've not been, i've heard that the Everest base camp trek is similar to the Annapurna trek in terms of towns being along the route so I don't see why you would NEED a guide for it, I think its more a way to make sure that the tour guides and companies are making money to be honest! Of course for the summit, you do need help but that is waaaay beyond the realms of what i would consider!

Really cool. I've talked about going with some Sherpa friends, we'll see. Everest doesn't interest me much, especially having made Sherpa friends who find great frustration now in the onslaught of tourists and trash left behind their sacred mountain. And yes, a guide is because of $$ :)

Inspiring, again, thank you!

I agree, I’m in Pokhara now. You don’t need a guide for the circuit. I’ve heard stories of an awkward two weeks if you don’t match well with them as well. I think the Everest ban is for summiting and not base camp. I could easily be wrong. Anyway, plenty of people do ABC solo, and some that got guides regretted it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47