The Blue Lagoon: Iceland day 7

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_20180731_105757-EFFECTS.jpg

Day 7

Squee! I’ve been looking forward to chillaxing in the Blue Lagoon all week.

Don’t get me wrong, this has been the fun-filled week of a lifetime. But I’m pretty damn tired.

The Blue Lagoon is really well-organized and to my delight does not seem crowded at all.

We present our pre-bought passes and get wristbands for our lockers. I immediately lose my wristband but find it later in the sleeve of my ever-present windbreaker.

Then Chad and I are separated to go into our designated locker rooms.

I look at Chad and ask him to meet me “right here” but apparently some staff member gives instructions to Chad, but not to me. I am directionally clueless, per usual.

So after I put my stuff into my locker, I go back to the imaginary “meeting spot” and wait for what seems like hours but Chad does not seem to be coming out of the men’s locker room any time soon.

I consider peeking inside the men’s room like a pervert but don’t want to get kicked out since I don’t even know how to use my phone here. So instead I ask some American looking lady how to get into the blue lagoon.

“You have to go into the locker room, get a shower, then you go to lagoon.”

I remember Chad mentioning that I need to put special conditioner in my hair or it will turn into a rock like a troll in the sun.

I’m looking everywhere in the locker room but I don’t see any special conditioner. I feel like a goddamn alien here. I don’t know how to flush the toilet, or what anything says, or where to go. I don’t even know how to send Chad a text message.

I pass a hall of naked foreign ladies and FINALLY see a sign for the lagoon. I exit the locker room through this secret exit on the other side of the showers.

I sneak down to the lagoon without showering since I just took a shower at the airbnb (and shaved in the tiny sink, remember). I just want to find Chad.

My cold feet splash through puddles on the tile stairs. I turn the corner past dozens of wet people and hear a choir of cherubs singing because I finally see a soaking wet Chad come out of the lagoon.

How dare he go in the lagoon without me? I was lost for crying out loud!

We are reunited and it feels so good... and so we decide to put skincare masks on like all the other Mrs. Doubtfire look-a-likes here...

#selfie (Mrs. Doubtfire pic via google. All other pics are my own)

41bc0f3c-cbd7-4e35-8325-5736a6361448.jpg

I wash my frosting/mask off in about 2 minutes. My skin is dry enough.

We pose before a few selfies because when will we ever does this again?...

IMG_20180731_105837.jpg

Our Blue Lagoon pass includes a free drink, so after swimming up to the bar, soon we are sipping smoothies and beer in this massive volcanic hot tub, which is one of the natural wonders of the world.

IMG_20180731_110756.jpg

Is this real life? Yes. Yes it is.

pimpingiseasy.jpg

We didn't know it yet, but this fabulous Day 7 was our special karmic reward for enduring our terrible soon to be Day 8...

Sort:  

Seemingly, it is a super stunning country !
I was actually about to research the flight to get there, sooner or later.

Are there a lot of tourism in this moment ???

You guys are lovely , bty ;) !

Hey, thank you so much! @karuka-hana Iceland has tourism as it's main industry, but it was not crowded at all. It's the most beautiful place I have ever seen! Be sure to go to Olafsvik, it's so gorgeous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78