Exploring Cozumel: The Unexpected Storm

in #travel7 years ago

Who here has been to Cozumel?

It's a little island in the Caribbean Sea off the coast of Mexico.

My husband @isaac.rodebush and I were able to visited the island 2 years ago for our honeymoon! You might be expecting a wonderful story about how fantastic our experience was at Cozumel, and I'm not trying to say that our experience WASN'T fantastic, but I'd like to tell the comical story of one day in particular where we faced an unexpected storm.

IMG_2923.JPG

We rented a Moped scooter and rode down to the southern tip of the island, which is home to the Punta Sur Eco Beach Park . This was a quiet little environmental reserve type of park, and we enjoyed riding along the trails and looking at all the scenery! However, we couldn't help but notice the lack of people around.

IMG_2904.jpg

After riding for quite a bit, we can to a lighthouse that had arrows pointing all different directions. I thought this was such a cool sign because you could see how far you were from tons of neighboring countries and islands! It was fun to have that all put into perspective because it made the world not seem so small.

IMG_2883.JPG

We were even able to go inside the lighthouse and climb the hundreds of stairs to the top! The view from up there was spectacular. If you take a look at the landscape below, the right body of water is the ocean, and the left body of water is a swamp filled with crocodiles! Don't want to get those confused! Yikes!

IMG_2908.JPG

Then, just as we were about to descend from the lighthouse, we started feeling some rain drops. No big deal, just sprinkles.

But by the time we got to the bottom of the stairs, it was absolutely POURING outside! With that sudden change of weather, we decided to turn back and start our journey back to our hotel.

IMG_2913.JPG

On the way back, we were surprised to see thousands of teeny tiny frogs hurrying along the dirt roads with us! If you look really closely at the image below, you can see the tiny frogs, some alive, some squished.

IMG_2916.jpg

Once we made it our of the Nature Park and onto the highway road, I was pretty tired and was sick of the rain pellets hitting my eyes, so I just closed my eyes and held onto the back of my husband, who was driving our moped scooter.

After probably 15 minutes of driving through this loud pouring rain, feeling like bullets hitting us at our fast speed, I heard my husband yell something to me. But it was so hard to hear, I had no idea what he said.

It turns out, he yelled, "DUCK!"

Just my luck.

I was then surprised with a large, leafy branch hanging from an above tree hitting me STRAIGHT IN THE FACE. At a pretty fast speed. Let's just say that was the first time during our marriage that I was a little mad at my husband. Ha!

But after pulling over, a few frustrated tears were shed, and we were back on the road and eventually made it back safe to our hotel.

IMG_2928.jpg

Notice the cab behind us in the photo above? That's the cab that decided to load up some of our bags... and drive them around the island for a few hours until we had our hotel management track them down. What an adventure!

Ever since our experience in Cozumel, we have had the burning desire to do a humanitarian trip together. As we road around the island that week, we drove past to many homes of local islanders and they truly had so little. We felt that they could use so much help with things like the construction of their homes, safety from wild animals, and medicine for those who are sick.

We want to make our future travels count more than just for leisure. We want to be able to make a difference for people who aren't presented with opportunities like we are. Since our discovery of Steemit, my husband has developed another humanitarian idea of traveling and teaching others about Steemit so that they can make incomes that otherwise wouldn't be attainable. I hope we will soon be able to make these burning desires a reality!

For more travel, photography, tips, and tricks, follow along!

Xoxo,

@sarahjanele

Sort:  

What a great story! I love how the trip inspired you to do a humanitarian trip, and how Steemit is involved too! I can't wait to hear updates.

Thanks @theowlhours,

We are really trying to find more meaningful ways to use are vacation time to do the most good!

look at that view 😍😍

Yes, it was gorgeous! :)

The trip to never forget :)

Haha you bet! Lots of memories made, for sure!

I miss Mexico. One of the most relaxing places on the planet.

Yes, I definitely agree with that! Wonderful place for a getaway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16