Chatsworth House- One of the most beautiful estates in England.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

...and its on our doorstep. Well not quite, that would be nice. Chatsworth house has been famous for a number of things and filming Pride and Prejudice was one of them.

We went here in the summer for the day touring the house and gardens but i have been here numerous times over the years with my dog and the kids. The estate offers an hive of activity and is truly spectacular in the summer.

In true Sarah fashion i have an amusing story to tell, well it wasn't amusing at the time, although my husband would disagree.

We decided to go on a horse and carriage....well it wasn't an actual carriage, a trailer thing that sat about 10 people on. Anyway i got particularly excited and barged my way to the front of the trailer, sitting smugly behind the driver.  Opposite me was the sweetest little girl and her parents, she kept smiling away, her brown curly hair glistening in the sun.

It was very hot day which made this experience slightly more uncomfortable. I was holding my map out in front of me trying to show the hubs where the maze was. I was joking about how i was going to lose him in it. Oh what fun, when something disturbing happened. 

As i pulled my map down it all started in bit of slow motion, or maybe it's my imagination. In front of me was the horse's back end. It was a big horse, loads taller than me. All of a sudden its tail moved to the side and i was blasted with a godly steam that through me back. Following the steam came an abundance of hot steaming waste that narrowly missed me. 

The sweet little girl was no longer sweet as her head flung back and laughed hysterically all the way back, with her parents joining in. The husband literally high fived the driver who laughed his way through his apologies.

I swear in my darkest moments i can still smell it.

Anyway.....moving on. We enjoyed the day going around the maze, the grounds and the house. We were going to have lunch there but when we noticed the price of a sausage roll was £9.50, we decided to go to the pub instead.

Here are some wonderful pics.

Enjoy

P.S as you drive in you will have never has seen as many sheep in you're whole life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29