Ive Got A Crazy Travel World Record Idea!! Is it possible?

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians!

I've got an idea.. a crazy idea, and I want to know what you think!

Gunnar Garfors.png

So, it's January 2018, the start of a new year, and as part of my new year's resolution, I want to achieve something special and unique, something which would push my boundaries and something I would remember for the rest of my life. So today I sat down and thought! Here are a few ideas I thought of:

Run the New York Marathon!
Climb Mount Kilimanjaro!
Have a year of drinking no soda!
Visit more countries than last year!

Drop me a follow if you like my content!.png

The list could go on and on… but then I thought! “These are all things everyone has already done, why not try to do something no one has completed before, something unique and special”… So here it is.

The current world record for countries traveled in one day is 19… And I believe I could get 20.

Of course, I can!

It would require a hell of a lot of planning with a little bit of luck sprinkled on top!

So this year, me and my best friend are in the early stages of planning a 24-hour road trip to break a new world record. Let me tell you about the current record. The current world record is held by a trio of Norwegian men, Gunnar Garfors, 39, Tay-young Pak, 42 and Øystein Djupvik, 40, who made it to 19 countries within 24 hours which is an incredible feat itself, I mean, it is the current world record!

So what journey did they take?

The record-setting journey started on September 22nd at midnight in Greece. The trio headed north through Bulgaria, Macedonia, Kosovo, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia, Slovenia, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, France and Switzerland, and ended in Liechtenstein just before the 24-hour period was up.

Here is a photo of the route which they took.

Gunnar Garfors (1).png

I've attached a link to the Daily Mail website, where you can read more about their journey and world record.

Link - https://goo.gl/K16NXr (Daily Mail Article)

So at this point we have a few decisions to make, we could copy there route road to road and hope we have better weather, flight times, and car rental crossovers again sprinkled with a little bit of luck. Or we could mix it up and go for a brand new route… which we have thought about.

Let me go over the route we had a look into.

Wales > England > Belgium > Holland > France > Germany > Luxembourg > Switzerland > Lichtenstein > Czech Republic > Slovakia > Hungary > Austria > Slovenia > Croatia > Bosnia > Serbia > Kosovo > Bulgaria > Macedonia.

Is this possible? The idea is in the works and we’d like to plan and execute this during the summer when the weather cheers up!

I want to know what you think! Drop me a comment and we can have a discussion!

Anyway, have an amazing positive day, and I will catch you in another Blog Post

Ciao

@samsmithson

Sort:  

This post has received a 1.92% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Your article is featured in @Shares UpGoat Project Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

This post has received a 100% https://UpGoat.com sponsored by @yehey.

Send at least 0.01 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field. To support our daily curation initiative, please delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement

Good job! Thanks to @samsmithson you have planted 0.27 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 18380.01. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

This post has received a 11.53 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @samsmithson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67