Vodni Pad - On the Road in BulgariasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

We spent this past weekend in Vodni Pad, a village in the Rhodope Mountains in southern Bulgaria, walking distance from the Greek border. There are only 10 regular residents here so our group more than doubled the population! This was my second visit to this place and I was very excited to be back.

I have done a fair amount of travelling in the states but have never encountered anything remotely similar this Bulgarian village! Allow me to take you on a short tour.

This is the house where we stayed.

Here is what I saw out my bedroom window the first morning there...a frosty reception. :D

This is the view of the valley from the "backyard".

I took a walk to see what had changed since I had been here last. This place was completely renovated...incredible. Look at those fence posts. Such great attention to detail!

I have always admired the wood stacking skills of the Bulgarian people. There are so many different textures in this shot...I LOVE IT!

There is just something about this particular window on the neighbors house that intrigues me.

Inside the house where we stayed, suspended above the massive dining table is a collection of cowbells hanging from leather straps. You can pull on a rope and it causes all of the bells to ring at once. It is such a wonderfully charming sound...one I will always remember. I am currently plotting to create a smaller version of this to hang in my next home.

I hope you enjoyed these images of Vodni Pad. Be on the look out for a future post on the natural beauty of this place and the surrounding area.

Previously posted at:
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008940904112
https://www.instagram.com/samanthajbarnes/

Sort:  

People love chopping wood. In this activity one immediately sees results.

- Albert Einstein

Chopping is one thing but it's in the stacking where one sees the artistry in the mundane. ;)

Thanks for your comment!

I actually went to your page and upvoted the Style Baked Chicken post. Thank you for your upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78