In Honor of World Turtle Day! - Outside Zlatograd, Bulgaria

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

May 23 is World Turtle Day...a little tidbit of information that came to my attention just today. So, in tribute to the testudines, I bring to you a snippet of our stop outside of Zlatograd, Bulgaria.


We (@brentssanders and I) had just gotten on the road headed for Perperikon when we saw this spot that had some interesting rock formations and thought it was worthy of our investigation. If my memory serves me, I recall it being a Thracian site of some sort. Anyway...while I was scampering around on the rocks, Brent had discovered this little fella that had been flipped over on his back.

Turtle 5.jpg
This turtle couldn't have been very old. Brent picked him up, cupped him in his hands and blew some warm air his way to see if he would come out of the shell. It worked!


Turtle 2.jpg
What ordeal had he been through and what must he have been thinking? And now you are all wondering, why does @samanthajbarnes ask such weird, unanswerable questions?...It's how I roll. 😏🐢


Turtle 3.jpg
Look at that gorgeous carapace. Patterns in nature are the best!


Turtle 4.jpg
And here's a look at the underside of his shell or plastron. I did resist giving his tummy a little tickle.


Turtle 7 (new home).jpg
Because Brent has such a tender heart for animals, I thought we had just gained a travel buddy. He decided it was best to set him up in this sunnier spot where there was water, plenty of food and some potential new friends...there were some frogs swimming around nearby. 🐸


Turtle 6.jpg
This was one of the rock formations nearby which I think looks like a turtle. Several Bulgarian legends I have read regarding other sites we had visited tell stories which end with all of the players turning to stone for one reason or another. I would like to think this particular rock encapsulates the soul of all the turtles that have come before our new little friend and will watch over him...(more of my weirdness but, hey, it gets me through the day.)


So, go hug yourself a turtle this fine day! I hope it will be a sweet and memorable encounter just like this one was for Brent and me.


Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Awww she will be fine. That is how you do a good turtle day post hehe. We found a turtle too :)

I think so too. It is my first ever turtle day post...I'm glad I did a good job. :D

Such an awesome animal. Hope she's still alive!

Agreed! I know he/she is alive...I feel it is so!

I have seen turtles in the wild but never so small. This little one is absolutely lovely and adorable. The nature is amazingly creative in every shape and form.

We figured it had to have recently hatched but didn't find any siblings. Nature is the best teacher of so many things, isn't it?

Ooohhh what a cute tiny thing!

Right?! So glad @brentssanders was tuned in enough to see him/her there.

Remember? I found him upside-down -- in the shade.

Yes, I did include the upside-down detail but forgot the shade.

Aww you guys saved a little creature :)

That seems to be a sporadic theme on my trips to Bulgaria. The first time I visited, we rescued 2 kittens from the streets of Sofia. I wish we had documented that experience more completely. It was quite humorous.

@hedac and I found one in the local pond but it was an abandoned pet. I have always had a tortoise in the family too, lives with my mum
Awww those are cute pics
So cute and small

I believe this was my first ever encounter with a turtle/tortoise in the the wild. Very cute, indeed.

I picture you like Snow White or Cinderella or Dr. Doolittle...surrounded by animals. :D

Oh I absolutely love the idea, all critters make me happy. I would sing to them

Of course you would...that is already part of my vision. :)

O my gosh....I love it! I want one! How cute! I had no idea we had a World Turtle Day! How fabulous! :)

I can tell you where to find this one but it will take you a while to get there. ;)

I found out on Facebook this morning...I double check to see if it was fake news before I created my post.

What a cute little one! I believe I've only passed by Zlatograd, never really stayed around. :)

So cute! Zlatograd and that whole area down south had the most interesting and refreshing energy. I had never been there but it felt so familiar.

Such a cute creature! How tiny and perfect! Love the photos, Samantha, thanks for sharing them with us!

Thats so cool I dont think I have ever seen one that small

So glad we stopped!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T17:57:27
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 973.52/1600.00
Total Photos: 92
Total comments: 219
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64