I quit my job and traveled down Route 66

in #travel7 years ago

I had a great opportunity to quit my job and travel down Route 66 for a few months. My sister and her best friend had a head start, and I flew in to meet up with them. These are some of the cool things that we saw off Route 66 (with some detours).

For those that aren't familiar with Route 66 it's called the "mother road" of America. It starts in Chicago, and ends at the Santa Monica Pier in California.

Halfway point of Route 66:

Every visitor to the halfway point of Route 66 autographs this truck!

Continental Divide with my sister:

At the edge of a crater in Arizona:

Outside of the famous Big Texan Restaurant:

I've never seen real Cowboys before!

Wandering around New Mexico:

About to swim in the Blue Hole - a sinkhole in New Mexico:

The Famous Staircase built by St. Joseph himself!

I'm afraid of heights, but I had to get a picture at the edge of the Grand Canyon!

Right before I slipped at the Grand Canyon:

What do they feed these trees in the south?!?!

Climbing the trees in the south ninja style!

What happens after climbing said tree:

Feeding wild Burros:

Pier in San Francisco:

Salt Flats:

Elephant seal saying hello:

Fremont Street in Vegas:

Sneaking a pic of Gary Busey:

Hope you enjoyed my post!

Sort:  

@escapingculture Good job! Upvoted at 100%. Will follow. Kindly pay me a visit and follow me.

Nice report! Im going to drive the Route 66 to. Any tips for things to do for a 2 year old kid?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42