Solo traveller issues: hotel amenitiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago

As a travel journalist I travel a lot on my own. Or in press groups, all facilitated with private rooms and tons of luxury. Luxury and high end is my specialty, so every trip I'm getting spoiled and pampered to the max. In the last eight years I've slept probably 30% of my life in hotels. And it still doesn't bore, it's always a delight to walk into a hotelroom.
There are a few issues I've encountered over the years though, which I'd like to share with you.

Hotel amenities Hotel V Amsterdam

The latest issue: amenities. Specially with twist caps. That moment when you're in the shower, wet hair et all, and you're ready to rinse it. But your wet hands aren't abled to open the cap. You step out of the shower and try it with a towel. Still no movement at all. Your last call: use your teeth. Ouch! No shampoo. After a long day of travels, exploring and rain. Same for the shower gel. Luckily the conditioner bottle opens and you give it a multi-purpose usage.

This happened to me in a luxury hotel that just renewed itself. It's not something you call housekeeping for, I felt to embarrassed as well. More spinach on the menu from now on. When you're traveling solo, things like these happen a lot.

It inspired me; after 8 years of traveling I think I can do better in designing good hotel amenities. I've set it as my new life goal. Thoughts are very welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26