My dream coming true: contributing to the Monocle Travel Guide Amsterdam

in #travel7 years ago

Over 8 years ago I started my career as a freelance copywriter. My main focuses were SEO-copywriting and travel. Soon I realised, to distinguish myself, I had to share something people would remember. I worked for citizenM and while on the job I met people from all over the world; correspondents, journalists, writers. They combined what I monthly read in my favorite magazine Monocle: a lifestyle making a difference writing about global affairs while traveling the world. Writing for Monocle became my ultimate dream combining writing and traveling. In 2016 Monocle began publishing travel guides. Immediately I knew, that was meant for me. I kept on telling people about this dream, although for me it still was something I thought I wouldn't realise anytime soon.

Right people, right moment
In February I received a message from a friend who I'd met in London years ago, but kept in touch with. If I was still into writing for Monocle and available on short notice. Except from a trip through India, I was sure it would be possible to work around the other duties. And all of a sudden, I ended up in a rollercoaster realising my dream.
I managed to research and write all the pieces right before I boarded the airplane and since end of May the Monocle Travel Guide Amsterdam is for sale.

*Architecture, Culture, Design, Sports & Fitness
I live in Amsterdam for almost 7 years and developed a 'nose' for new and good spots when it comes to food, drinks, remote working etc. Weekly many people ask me where to go, international visiting tourists and locals. I love to guide people to experiences I'm lucky enough to have. Though food and hotels are absolutely a specialty, the Monocle team covers these topics themselves. Therefore they made me in charge of many of the architecture, culture, design, sport & fitness parts (not all, many freelance journalists collaborate!). I knew all the spots, but still learned a lot of fun facts about my own city.

In less then 3 months I realised what I dreamed off the last 8 years. Super proud and hopefully this inspires you. Dreams do come true!

IMG_2066.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26