My adventures Russia part 2

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Following my short working visit to Chelyabinsk I flew into Moscow at 6am. This gave me 9 hours to explore Moscow.

IMG_3312.JPG

I got the express train into the city centre. If you ever travel here and expect the express train to go fast, something is lost in translation. It took ages and the view was mainly trees.

IMG_3259.JPG

Moscow is a city with a simple underground rail system unlike London. I arrived at the Red Square Пло́щадь Револю́ции or Revolution Square is the metro stop.

IMG_3291.JPG

Red Square is actually grey, although the Kremlin wall is red.

IMG_3271.JPG
Me in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier It was -19C and they never moved. They have also only just been given the little box to stand in.

It is not very large and surrounding the square is...

IMG_3293.JPG
Saint Basil's Cathedral...

IMG_3290.JPG
The Kremlin Tower...

IMG_3285.JPG
The Lenin Mausoleum...

IMG_3288.JPG
The GUM Department store...

image2.JPG
The State Museum...

The GUM department store is huge and contains lots of top class shops with designer clothes and prices. I did have lunch there and it was very good.

IMG_0190.JPG
Inside the GUM Department store great for window shopping.

IMG_0201.JPG
The Bolshoi Theatre

When it was time to leave in the underground station I got to see all the fantastic statues and follow tradition in touching the dog's nose for luck. Each arch is flanked by a pair of bronze sculptures by Matvey Manizer depicting the people of the Soviet Union, including soldiers, industrial workers, pilots, animals and schoolchildren. There are a total of 76 sculptures in the station.

russia trip 1.JPG
russia trip 2.JPG

Sort:  

beautiful place and pictures

I agree. I would have liked more time to visit the Kremlin and museum. Maybe next time.

Thanks. It's very clean.

oh! You write about some of my favourite places) Hope you wasn't getting cold)))

I was well wrapped up and inside every Russian building its like an oven.

very beautiful scenery,
amazing, very very beautiful,,
if I had wings, I would fly there...
@s0u1

i love last pic ;) thank for sharing upvote and resteem

What a shiny noise he has! I wonder how the tradition started.

I don't think anyone really knows and its like a lot of things. Once one does it for luck, more will take a chance.
Good site for info and some great photos of the rest of the statues.
Statues

That link is super-interesting. Thanks!

Say what you want about the Soviet Union - they sure knew how to build a gorgeous metro station.

Everything is very well made and architecturally interesting.

I think one of the best parts of Moscow is the interior of the Peoples Palaces otherwards the Underground Tube Stations.

I will aim to visit the palaces next time.

Sure you`ll enjoy it down there, much more eye opening than the tube in London.

I visited Moscow a few years ago. It was cold but not that cold. Brrr. Thanks for rekindling my memories.

Hope you had more time and enjoyed it. Great city for a short break.

We did but spent most of it stuck I traffic as we were on a group coach tour. The Moscow metro was amazing. All the stations are a highlight themselves.

I would like to see it at night next time.

Impressive journey...

Thanks. Very quick visit though.

I love your work! I think you are an incredible photographer.

Hey, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. I would be happy if you could check out my post and maybe follow back. Thank you
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/explore-the-beauty-of-northern-thailand-pai-my-travel-diary
I really like your post. Very nice :-)

I enjoyed your post. Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40