Port Alfred

in #travel8 years ago

Port Alfred
212.jpg
In 2011, my family and I went on holiday to Port Alfred, which is on the East coast of South Africa. When on holiday at the ocean, I love to go for long walks along the beach and to climb on the rocks and look at the sea. The photo at the top of the page shows a beautiful rock structure that was eroded through the years by sea, wind and sand.

At this specific beach the sea formed various shallow pools, in which the kids can play all day long. Just look at how clear the water is.
201.jpg

There are lots of flat rocks along the shore line,
209.jpg

There is also long quiet beaches, on some of them you can almost have the beach for yourself.
210.jpg

Here I am on some flat rocks, from which I took a photo towards the beach.
217.jpg

A wave breaking against the rocks, creating a nice spray of water.
218.jpg

A view from a bit higher up the rocks.
221.jpg

As I went along a found a few seclude coves along the beach, where people just enjoy the sun and beach.
223.jpg

Another protected cove.
224.jpg

Here I took a photo from underneath a overhanging rock, almost forming a small cave.
226.jpg

Another beach I came across while walking.
228.jpg

Do you spot the bird on the rocks?
230.jpg

Some more people on the beach.
231.jpg

A small lagoon next to the beach.
233.jpg

Another cove from the top of the rocks.
234.jpg

This was a real nice walk with quite a bit of climbing involved.

All photos were taken by me, with my canon ProShot A450 in 2011.

Thank you for reading. I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  


Hi @rynow, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you very much @shadowspub, I will go over and read it straightaway.

Thank you very much @shadowspub, I will go over and read it straightaway.

That looks awesome. upvoted :)

Hi @aidancloquell it is a really beautiful place. Thank you for reading and commenting.

For some reason, every post I am trying to read is taking a long time including my own and this one. I think it's to do photos but I am not sure it's just me.
Like, e.g., I cannot get to see any photos load in this page but i'm try to post this comment anyway.

OK, comment work and upvote works too ;-)

You're welcome. It seems images all loaded pretty fast now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43