My experience of Bilbao, Spain ✈️

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemit friends!

You may have noticed little activity from my part over the past week and a half. This is because of two reasons: First, I got a really bad fever, and secondly, I went abroad to Spain.

I spent two days in Bilbao, Spain (or Basque Country to be more precise), and I would like to share my experience with you all! Here are some of the main attractions that I saw in Bilbao.

A beautiful view



I stayed at a hotel just 1.5km outside the city. You could easily walk to the city center (which I did) via a cool off-road trail and a cable car.

As you can see, the city is very close to the Pyrenees, which separate Spain and France.

The Guggenheim Museum



The building of this museum improved the popularity of the city by a ton. It turned Bilbao into a center for artists around the world to come and admire some great works of other artists.

For people who don't like art, the outside of the building looks nicer than the inside. Apart from the weird shapes, I also liked the extra things around the building, such as the smoke on the Nervión river that you can see in the second picture.

The city center


The city center of Bilbao is very fun to walk through and immerse yourself into. Especially the old city center (Casco Viejo) is relatively quiet and thus makes for a nice morning walk. When you're hungry or thirsty, you can go in any direction and find a nice café to drink a strong Spanish coffee and to eat some tapas.

To get to the old city center, you can just follow the river from the Guggenheim Museum and you'll get there in a couple of minutes.

Estadio San Mamés (Football Stadium)





San Mamés was definitely the most exciting thing of my visit to Bilbao. For what looks like such a small city, the have a huge football stadium that fits over 50 thousand people in it!

I don't know why, but there was absolutely NOBODY visiting the stadium. So, I could run around in the museum as long as I wanted and I got a private tour through the stadium. I saw the pitch, the dressing rooms, the press area, and the VIP boxes.


All in all, Bilbao is a very fun city to visit. It's not too big, food is cheap, and there's a lot to see. I definitely recommend going there if you have the time!

For now, I say goodbye to all of you, because I'm still recovering from my illness.

If you kept reading all the way to here, thank you very much :) I hope to see you in the next post.

Please tell me in the comment which Spanish place is your favorite!

Sort:  

I got a private tour through the stadium. I saw the pitch, the dressing rooms, the press area, and the VIP boxes.

Sounds to me like you lucked out pretty big! I love seeing different stadiums and arenas. I've been to a few soccer games played in (American) football stadiums, but never a legit futbol pitch. That had to have been a major highlight for you.

Yeah it was really cool to get a private tour! It was a nice surprise.

Steem on!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rvanstel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88