Drive to Kaweah Reservoir. Snow capped Sierra Nevada mountains. Huge John Muir log carving. PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday afternoon I took my boys for a drive to Lake Kaweah Reservoir. I was hoping to get a good view of some of the Snow Capped Sierra Nevada mountains. I live so close to the mountains but a haze is in the sky.


This is a very large carving of John Muir on the side of the road. Large log carvings have been at this location since I can remember.


An afternoon drive eastbound on California State Route 198 is always good for my soul. A photograph taken right at the beginning of the foothills


This sign is right before the climb to Lake Kaweah and I can say we haven't had this much visible snow in the Sierra Nevada mountains in years.


Kaweah Lake is much fuller than a couple months ago. It's good to see all the water.

I pulled over to to photograph the mountains. I use to water sky where the river ends, so it lets you know how low the water is.

I pulled over to photograph the boys next to the John Muir carving but the drive knocked them out.

I'm @runridefly, and I can remember when my parents would take me on drives up to the mountains. I love doing the same with my boys.

Sort:  

A welcome and scenic post from California complete with cameo by the mountain man himself, John Muir. "The mountains are calling and I must go." he said, and perhaps you heard the same call and answered with family in tow. I'm always impressed with how vast and wild California is, and how easy it is to get out into Nature from any of it's Metropolitan areas. Thank you for sharing this simple, yet inviting post.

@jacobts, i live in the center of this beautiful state. I would like something new, but it's been home forever.

A lovely home to have. Perhaps you've already been, but if not and you feel the call, Big Sur was one of my favorite visits to the coast. Kids might be a bit young for the rugged hikes, but the views of the ocean below golden rolling hills was a delight.

I love big sur. Camp there and i absolutely love the weather.

Amazing pictures. Thanks for sharing.

@lichtblick, thank you for viewing my friend.

Little travelers are full of impressions! Good picture!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66