A Story if Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sustainability

in #travel7 years ago

If You Could Pack Your Belongings and Go... Would You?

9B986FE7-0C6B-4C06-AA0F-69482DEE97AF.jpeg

I am here to share the story of a young man, who is on the journey of a lifetime. Through the years I have followed him on a number of adventures. From Tucson to Los Angeles...

F79DB5D6-0C72-4491-B42F-5855AA85C077.jpeg

To all around California and then through the desert and mountains of the west coast. His Instagram is filled with images from all over the place.

E980C1AB-1B8A-480B-8688-AE5257E211A5.jpeg

C03E0ED1-2137-4F55-A17A-496AAE9C6847.jpeg

AB0C18D1-D2FD-4B5D-B9B9-6B65E0075187.jpeg

8D2F0549-9569-46FD-9469-EA81CB5CEE71.jpeg

42E4A1DF-AA58-4189-B650-3A22B4E96011.jpeg

21CFAD06-58D2-4DA5-8405-C8EDCFFDAEB0.jpeg

See, he gets around.

I Would Like to See Him Continue to Get Around

A while back I asked Joe why he didn’t share his story with other people. He does have a Facebook and his Instagram is active, but in this day and age there is a definite need from people who want to learn to live more disconnected and off the grid.

He has been accumulating the skills to not only live in a way that is morally congruent with his spiritual compass, but also by his own will and direction. As a freelance writer and someone that works for myself, I can appreciate that, especially when you consider that I worked in corporate America for nearly 10 years before I figured out that all of the money in the world probably wouldn’t make me happy.

The fact is, I’ve never seen any indication that Joe does this for money or because he couldn’t make money in another way. He is compassionate by nature and hosts a variety of interests that have brought him to the point in his life where he is now. Of course, we all have our pasts and we come to a point where we must steal the process, borrow a coping mechanism or learn a new way of being. Being one of my sisters sons, I almost chuckle because it’s like he was born for this lifestyle. She’s a free spirit, perhaps more so than the rest of us. I have always seen his wandering as an extension of his curiosity to interact with the world.

A couple weeks ago he asked me if I would help to support his go fund me account, and he was looking to find supporters to help him on his next journey. Being passionate about his food sources and being someone that lives off the grid, they made sense when he said he wanted to learn more about living off the land, foraging and native plants to the western coast. A brilliant idea, and a brilliant mind to put an investment in, was my thought.

That being said, I’ve had a rough year and I’m not that much help. In fact, this is probably been the roughest freelancing year in the last 12 years. It seems like an excellent time of his life to be branching out and diversifying his understanding, and to be honest, any other point in my life and I would throw money at him. I ended up offering my assistance and helping to boost his social media if needed, or writing anything and try to give him ideas on how he could monetize this journey without making it about money.

In the future, with the right materials and just enough support, I believe that it is possible to see more than just amazing pictures of pretty places from this guy.

2E820C14-EC5F-4D00-9F77-209984BE52EA.jpeg

D6F00348-41D3-413E-81BA-B4C4105C10E9.jpeg

We Can Be More, If We Dream More

I turn over to you, to my friends here on Steem And to those that I do not now but have a wonderful spirit in their own heart and an innate curiosity for the world around them.

I would love to be able to show him the support received for his journey from here, either through donations on your part to his Go Fund Me or even through up voting and resteeming this story.

This is Where You Come In

At first, when I brought up our community here on the block chain, I busted that this was a place where people would appreciate his message. Honestly, I am encouraging him to post a story on here and at least make sure that he’s documenting it, which I think he’s going to continue to do and improve upon.

Right now he’s asking for is to get through the next season, up to two years on the road. During this time he would take in everything he can from the West Coast states. Right now he is in Arizona and learning about local flora and fauna. Beyond that, I know he has an interest in developing a deeper understanding for sustainable food and off grid living.

0A440E74-4456-4452-8480-8D1342AF021B.jpeg

Teamwork Makes the Dream Work!

Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to go through this lengthy post. I don’t often ask or post anything of this nature but I really do feel that this is it person that deserves the support I have a community and one who can give back knowledge, experience or even a Perspective that will be valuable for the future.

Even if you cannot donate please forward this message on so that more people can see it. With your help, I have complete faith that we can get his message to the right people.

Love and Light!
770

2B9B01C6-3933-4949-922E-539A7B516663.png

Sort:  

I resteemed this to get some more eyes on it. Looks like a pretty interesting guy, hope he gets some funding for his journey of discovery :)

Much love - Carl

Thanks Carl :) He is. I don't know... I liked watching his journey so far and thought others could benefit. I am really excited to see what he does with this next leg. Ultimately, we all have to live the dream in some variety and when you pave your own path, preferring the one unknown vs. the popular... it isn't that uncommon to need a little help now and then. He has been incredibly resistant about asking, and it isn't like he is someone that wants a hand out. A hand up will do him just fine. I appreciate the share :) Hey - off topic. BTW did you do anything else with your dice cathedral or any of the gaming stuff? I have been out of it for a while, going through real world life stuff. I think I'll be back more regularly now, I hope... Nice to clock back in and find a friendly face.

I haven't been posting too much game related stuff lately but that may change as I am getting pushed by one of my collaborators to finish up the page layout on an rpg adventure we co-wrote so we can put it up on a print-on-demand website - as I start to work on that again I will probably post spreads from the adventure here as I finish up the layout. Check out my @cyclops blog though to see the direction I have been taking the DeepDreamGenerator - I am making art now with the intention of feeding it into the generator (pen and ink cross hatch sketches done with the generator in mind), I think some of the stuff on the @cyclops blog is really cool :) Much love - Carl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83