Travel Tuesdays #8: The Mojave Desert

in #travel7 years ago (edited)
<h3The Mojave Desert

I LOVE going out to the desert. Not the kind of sandy, dune filled desert you might be thinking of, I'm talking about the Mojave Desert. There are a few dunes out there, but you have to know where to look for them. There's also the occasional dry lake which is flat, but for the most part the Mojave is mountainous and full of hills. Oh, and the occasional tank crossing.

The Mojave desert is huge, 47,877 sq. miles. It stretches from Southern California into Nevada, Arizona and Utah, however, it's the smallest desert in North America. It makes up for it size though with it's attractions like Death Valley, Las Vegas, extinct volcanoes like Pisgah and Amboy craters and too many ghost towns to name.

I'm not sure what it is exactly that attracts me to the desert, but I do know I love the views, the desolation, the secret, hidden history and just getting away from it all.

The desert puts things in perspective. It makes me realize how lucky I am to live comfortably in a nice, air conditioned home with plenty of water. Only 100 years ago these luxuries were unavailable, but people still lived out there. It must have been a miserable existence, unless you struck it rich! While I haven't struck it rich, I've come across some very cool minerals like this vein of amazonite. The whole mountain produces it and in much bigger quantities.

You must be very careful when traveling in the Mojave desert though. If you are an idiot like me you have to be sure to bring a few extra gallons of water, dried foods and sunscreen! I've been miles from nowhere before, gotten a flat tire, gotten stuck, almost fell down a mountain, and the list goes on an on. When you are in one of those situations you realize really quickly how fragile we are and how quickly the heat can overcome you. So always, always be prepared. Also, there is a fungus in the desert that will give you desert fever. It's very dangerous and undetectable. If you happen to get sick after visiting the Mojave go see a doctor.

There is a tragic, but fascinating story of a German couple and their two young children who lost their lives while vacationing in the Mojave. The story, as told by one of the rescuer's, was as dramatic and mysterious as any fiction story you will ever see or read. I will write about it someday.

Which leads me into another aspect of the Mojave, the mystery! Like this low, evening fog that creeped in.

The Mojave holds many secrets and mysteries. Some good like gold nuggets, some bad like the German tourists. Forgotten history like that of the borax 20 mule teams, the wooden monorail, the Bessie Brady, the site of the X-15 crash, the Panamint boom town high up in the mountains, the underground Mojave river, all of which I will share with you in the future.

One of my favorite area's to visit in the Mojave is Trona. Located in BFE, 30 miles east of Ridgecrest, CA also BFE, Trona sits on the edge of Searles Lake. A once gigantic lake that has no outlet. Having no outlet it collected minerals for thousands of years from the surrounding mountains which all drained into and collected on the lakebed. Today it is a tiny fraction of what it was, but it is rich with salt minerals.

Each year the Searles Lake Gem and Mineral Society hosts a gem and mineral show, Gem O Rama, in which attendees are allowed on the lake to dig out amazing specimens of pink halite and hanksite. I'll be writing about hanksite in my Monday Minerals series next week. My family and I have been attending for 5 years now and it never gets old. We've met people there from Germany, China, Japan, Russia, New Zealand and more. It's that famous, but you probably haven't heard of it have you? Well I'll be there in 2 weeks so you can read about it soon!

There are so many beautiful places in the Mojave to visit. I'll close with some additional photographs of some of those places. Do you know any by chance??

Next Travel Tuesdays #9: Virginia City, Nevada


Thanks for reading!

Our Steemit Blogger Central Discord community is here:

Discord:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

Sort:  

I love the Mojave! Especially Death Valley NP. I've never been to Gem-o-rama, but it sounds cool I'm gonna have to check it out. I definitely recognize some of those places in your photos. That photo overlooking Panamint valley with a snow capped Telescope peak is awesome! The next one I think is Rainbow canyon. The 4th one looks like Fossil falls. I'm not sure about the others. I've written a few steemit posts from Death Valley that you would probably enjoy. Panamint City - https://steemit.com/adventure/@derekrichardson/death-valley-trips-panamint-city and Telescope peak - https://steemit.com/nature/@derekrichardson/death-valley-trips-telescope-peak . And actually my next post is also going to be about checking out some cool spots in Death Valley. I should have that one up in a day or two.

Oh man, anyone who can spot Telescope peak from a photo deserves a follow. Just realized I already follow you and I recognize your youtube name. Small world.

As for the photos, correct on the Telescope Peak picture. Second correct! Correct on Fossil Falls. You definitely know the desert.

I can't believe your post got so few votes! I've been wanting to go up to Panamint for years, but none of my friends would do it. It's amazing that at one time 5,000 people lived up there!. Those photos you took blew me away. Standing on those peaks! We gotta hook up some time.

Come join us on our Discord https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa Looking forward to your posts!

I was hoping that post was gonna do better too, but I had only been on steemit like 4 days so I didn't have to many followers yet. I think sometime in the future I might try to re-write that one with some additional info and some other improvements and post it again now that I have more followers. Because that post does deserve more that just my self vote and the cheetah bot vote, thats pretty sad. lol! If you want to we could plan to meet up sometime this winter and hike up to Panamint city and stay a few nights in the cabins and explore some of the old mines. I love it up there, so many interesting things to explore. And I bet going with someone as knowledgeable about the area as you would make it even more interesting!

I can travel with your post with vivid photos. I never been to go dessert. someday wanna go there with my family.

ありがとうございます。本当にいいきれいですよ!カリフォルニアの砂漠はさいこです。

it is an amazing sight and will be very happy and fun if I can go to this place
I like this and very amazing + wonderfull

Lovely scenic photos of the wild mountainous landscape! @rt395

Thank you. It's such a big topic and I only scraped the surface. Perhaps I didn't do it justice, but I hope the photos will help make up for my lack of narration.

great one! and great photos! followed and upvoted waiting you to upvote mine <3

Thank you. Welcome to Steemit. Sorry about the BFE, wasn't expecting someone from Egypt to comment on my post! 😂😂

its ok. why not your post is awsome and i like the photos <3

This is good news. Well done!