Matsuri 祭り Festivals In Japan - A Series

in #travel7 years ago

Another year, another matsuri in Japan. This is going to be a series of posts of different mastusris that I've been to and hopefully will be going to this summer.
(Hachioji Matsuri)
IMG_1717.JPG

What is a matsuri? A matsuri 祭り is a festival in Japan, part carnival, part parade, part tradition and total fun. Each one can be very specific to the city/region they are held and while held throughout the year, July and August see some of the most and the biggest across the country. Some are very old and traditional, some are more modern and eclectic. Most have games for the kids, signing & dancing, floats, fireworks, alcohol, food & the spirit of celebration. Occasionally I've even been fortunate enough to take part in some.

(Getting Warmed Up! I really did pull the float after this ;) )
DSC00021.JPG

I'll start out with some matsuris from my wife's hometown, Kazuno, Akita. It's way up north in an area known for it's high quality rice, apples, delicious chicken & gold/copper mines. They are held in July through August including during Obon, a buddhist festival honoring their ancestors. Floats are created & decorated by the young and the old from the community. Childeren, teenagers, 20 somethings, adults & seniors all come together to build them, operate them and tow them through the streets.
Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 4.14.27 PM.png

CIMG3240.JPG

CIMG3242.JPG

CIMG3235.JPG

My mother-in-law participates in the Bon Odori, Obon dance.
kemanai_3.jpg

IMAG0096.jpg

IMAG0113.jpg

CIMG2351.JPG

CIMG2372.JPG

The game booths for kids are only rivaled by the food & beverage booths for adults.

CIMG2376.JPG

IMAG0151.jpg

One matsuri has an interesting twist, along the parade route the locals & businesses give an offering to the group that they like the best. Proceeds are then split up at the end of the night amongst the children & next year's matsuri fund. Kids sure do know how to spend it.

CIMG2331.JPG

CIMG2281.JPG

Matsuris are a time to let loose, have fun, and celebrate so come with me as I take you to a many more! Each Sunday I'll be doing another post for different matsuris, so put on your yukata and join me!

Next up: Hachioji, Tokyo, two matsuris there, one big and one small.

IMG_1942.JPG

Sort:  

looks fascinating.
somthing new for my bucketlist.

Be posting a new one tomorrow. That bucket list is gonna get a whole lot bigger.

well I got a whole)life to go for it :-)

looking forward for more

Another thing to look forward to on my sunday nights, can't wait to see more. Nice pic of you by the way ;)

My wife insisted I include that, she enjoys trying to make an ass of me almost as much as I do. Thanks

Hmm sounds a lot like my wife as well...hahah

ya man! lol

Looks like a very fun and colorful event.

Actually, it was several different ones, but ya, fun and very colorful. Keep in mind, these were the small ones. The next one I write about has 10's of thousand of people that attend.

i always have wanted to go japan, i can bet its a whole different culture

It's a fascinating place and loads of fun. You should put it on your bucket list.

This festival looked like a ton of fun!

it was ok, but the bigger one's are much better. Stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43