iTravelRox #2: Canyoneering in Cebu, Philippines

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit Friends!

Now, I'm showing you my adventurous side. Who loves to do canyoneering?

There's a lot of things to do in Cebu and one of them is the Canyoneering.

How to Prepare Yourself for Canyoneering?


P1080676.JPG

"Before I engaged the canyoning activity, I thank my solo backpacking experience for bringing a heavy backpack with a laptop on it which I am now used for walking or hiking everywhere I go. I also had this cliff jumping activity on Camotes Island which I already had the experience of jumping. I know to swim a little bit and is always fond of snorkeling. You must be physically fit and has the sense of adventure.

The activities related to canyoning are mountaineering, bouldering, and snorkeling.

*For safety, it is a must to wear a helmet, a wetsuit and a PFD (personal flotation device) or life jacket.

*Always listen to your guide and don’t get stray away from the group. Fortunately, we were just three during the tour so it was easy for our guide to accommodate us.

*Be careful during cliff jumping to avoid bruises, scrapes, and cuts. We were fortunate that we never had this kind of incident as we were not in a hurry. Just keep your pace and enjoy the scenery."

Source: http://www.itravelrox.com/2015/08/23/the-canyoneering-adventure-in-alegria-to-badian-in-cebu-philippines/

How Was the Canyoneering Experience?


If you're afraid of heights, this is not for you. It's like facing your fears, living your dreams. I had to face my fears. It wasn't easy actually. The first jump was fine because it wasn't that high. But the next few jumps, my heart was racing.

P1080778.JPG

I jumped to different heights. The truth is, I did the canyoneering twice. The second experience made me jumped to various heights. But the first one was a good experience since it felt like we own the place. No people around. Just us. It made us appreciate Mother Nature.

Location of Canyoneering

The Canyoneering will start at Alegria which the van took us there from Moalboal. Alegria is the starting jump off. You will experience 3-4 hours of jumping and swimming. You will end up in Badian which you can see the Kawasan Falls.

P1080799.JPG

Photos of Me

P1080698.JPG

P1080722.JPG

If you like my post, please upvote, leave a comment. Any adventurous steemers out there? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87