Vieques...The Little Island Off An Island

in #travel7 years ago

Puerto Rico is likely an island most people have heard of. The Caribbean Island leading into the Virgin Islands and also a U.S. Commonwealth. But you may not know about the small island of Vieques off it's eastern coast. The 21 mile long 4 mile wide island is one of my favorite places in the world!

My wife and I visited this magical little island many years ago on the suggestion from her grandpa who lives on main land Puerto Rico. We took a ferry from Farjardo (about an hour trip). At the time the island was not a huge tourist destination and by today's standards it still isn't. There were no hotels or major resorts. You had to rent a room at a guesthouse.

The island is easy to get around. We walked most places, but you can rent mopeds or take a cab pretty easily. There is not need for a car on this island in my opinion. Vieques has many beautiful, untouched beaches. We have yet to see them all, but when you visit them you have the whole beach to yourself! Miles of white sand and turquoise ocean is all yours.

Wild horses run free, iguana are easily spotted, trade wind breezes keep any bugs at bay, and tropical weather makes for the perfect recipe for rest and relaxation. For those looking for something adventurous and truly one of the neatest experiences of my life I suggest the Bio-Bay Tours. They take you out at night to kayak in a bay that is home to billions of micro-organisms called dinoflagellates. They have a defense mechanism where they will emit a bluish glow when disturbed. So when you take the late night tour you see glowing fish beneath you, you splash your hand in the water and glowing drips flow down your hands and arm. It is something to experience in person as words do not do it justice.

Vieques over the past few years has added a W Resort and Hotel as well as a boutique hotel. It is becoming a more well known destination, but still holds its small island charm.

I highly recommend a trip to this beautiful little island. I hope you enjoyed my pictures. Please Upvote and feel free to follow me!

Steem On!!

Sort:  

thank you for share your experience. when I am travelling I love to go to places that is not so much well known, specially if it is a paradise island. feel free to follow me back please

Thank you for your comment! I followed you! Steem On!

I will have stories down the road about my travels in Brazil. I think you will like them.

Sounds like a wonderful destination. Do they have any scuba diving?

I would assume you could scuba dive somewhere there. I have never done it so I would not a be a good resource for that. I know there are a ton of snorkel spots.

Thanks for the reply, if there is good snorkeling there is usually also good scuba diving as well. I will look into it.

Looks like there is a very good scuba guide operator called "Isla Nena" that leads boat dives and also a shore dive at a place called Mosquito Pier.

Jealous here. I was out today and got rained on. Summer in Ireland.

I was in Ireland last month and it rained every day. I kind of expected it though so it wasn't a problem for us.

Nice place!

It really is! Can't wait to get back! Thanks for reading/viewing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81