@rosescale133 Wanders to Chamonix Aiguille de Midi

in #travel6 years ago

Last year, October I had the opportunity to see the tallest mountain in Europe west from up close, and I would love to share with you the experience and relive it while writing this post.

Mont Blanc can be accessed from different parts of Europe west, the best route to take for us was in Chamonix–France which is just an hour and a half drive from Geneva–Switzerland. For someone like me who lived in the Philippines since I was born the drive was breathtaking. A vast formation of mountains lays in front of you, as the anticipation grows to reach your destination.

20171007_093252.jpg

When you reach Chamonix the Aiguille du Midi telepherique (cable car) is hard to miss, as you will see in the pictures it is in the middle of the town. You will have to buy tickets for the round-trip ride to the station, which will be composed of two rides going up and the same for going down.

The 2 photos shown below is not mine. I have grabbed them from https://www.chamonix.com/telepherique-de-l-aiguille-du-midi,94-156953,en.html it is for reference since I have not the knowledge during this travel that I will be sharing my experience here and miss the chance to take a picture of our ride up.

156953-7-aiguille-du-midi-gare-depart.jpg

156953-0-aiguille-du-midi-plan-aiguille.jpg

The Aiguille du Midi is the closest you can get to the summit of Mont Blanc without the need to hike, it's a pretty cool concept since the experience of being there for someone like me who never hiked in these weather condition and getting the chance to be so close to the highest mountain in West Europe is surreal. If you are like me who is not experienced in hiking and wants to visit and see Mont Blanc from up close, I highly recommend Aiguille du Midi.

With 3,842 m elevation, you guessed it right. It will be freaking cold. During our visit, it -10 degrees and was windy. But there was also the sun and it made everything so magnificent.

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.14.21.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.14.22.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.14.28.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.17.00.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.13.48.jpeg

Also if you are one of the courageous souls that can brave the climb to the summit of Mont Blanc, it is also possible. There are a lot of exits that hikers can choose to start their ascent.

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.12.54.jpeg
Here is one, which I was blocking for a picture. Haha

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.13.41.jpeg
And here are some brave souls who just finished with their climb to the summit, how awesome is that?

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-07 at 15.13.19.jpeg

If you are one of the extreme ones, you can take this exit with a ski jump. Pretty daunting for me to imagine but there were actually a couple of people who were there to ski down or paraglide from the 3800m elevation.

I also had the chance to take a full video of our descend inside the telepherique (cable car) which took maybe 12 mins because there is a stop to change cable car. I hope I inspire you to visit Chamonix where you can revel in the beauty of Mont Blanc and enjoy some more activities that you would like to try. This wraps up my post and I'll be posting more of my art and travel soon.

Check out the video here.

Steem On! Steemers.

Sort:  

I'm out of words! Amazing view with an amazing sunny day. If you had visited it in a cloudy day it would be a shame.
I'll start to follow your blog :)

Right you are, I am one of the lucky one. But we really look into the weather and directly decided to drive there on that good day since I was still adapting to the cold weather. It was just the right mix of cold wind and sun.

i'll be following you also. Happy Steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22