English Camps in Thailand are different ᵔᴥᵔ

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

14355808_1371942256201657_8341648092433896724_n.jpg

Yeah, you got me. Again some gipsy millennial trying to save the world by volunteering in South East Asia. Doesn't the world has enough of them already? Nope!

How I ended up volunteering

Thailand's English education is pretty bad! (Oh did he say that?) Yep. Mostly because it's outdated. But don't worry there is Hope. "Hi, I am Hope! "

There are people like those mentioned in the article and this Thai guy and his team in Chiang Rai who are revolutionising the Thai English Education as we know it. And I have met up with him but that's part of another story.

Before I head north to spend time with him and his NGO I spent a week in Thailands south. Bangkok and Pattaya. Some nice cities and not that naughty as the news depict them. You know, Sex-Tourism and stuff.

Well, Pattaya's Walking Street is actually pretty naughty. Women wanting to tear you into their sanctum and the infamous Ping Pong shows being advertised everywhere. Just imagine that happen in Europe! Anyway, we are talking about the future here so besides having a walk on Pattaya's Walking Street I volunteered in an English Camp even further south with a Thai called Pi Porsche I met through Couchsurfing.

skies_from_above (1).jpg

Conquering the skies diving into white puddles made out of liquid sheep wool I was entering Bangkok's airport which's international name I still cannot pronounce up until this date. After that, I instantly head to our designated meeting point outside of Bangkok. Of course without getting a local sim Card and having no Internet connection at all! How should I without a proper Sim Card?!

So I asked my way through the airport and managed to get put into a white truck with no other foreigner besides me. Great! I just enjoyed Thailands highway and landscape on the way ride there and hoped for the best to find my designated meeting partner. Long story short: I did not. At first! I got asked to leave the van and found myself in the middle of a buzzing street. That street with a market nearby turned out to be our meeting point but Pi Porsche just did not arrive. Why?

≖‿≖

Luckily I had Porsche's number and after I managed to convince a local guy to lend me his phone I was able to call this mysterious guy. Turns out he didn't want to come because he didn't think I would show up and he did not want to waste his time. Understandable. A few minutes later he turned up and complimented me by mentioning how I looked like 14. Thanks Pi

Afterwards, we met up with the other volunteers who both happened to be German too. Love you, Pi Porsche. Thanks for making me face real Thailand right at the beginning. Nothing could shock me afterwards!!

18296832_1343804609040213_618631773_o.jpg

Arriving at the Camp - are we teaching soldiers?

We arrived at our Camp in the evening after we went snack-shopping. Lays and sugary stuff. I like this Camp! We survived the drive to the location thanks to Pi Porsche's AMAZING driving skills. Guess where we ended up?! Right, at a military base! Have we taken a wrong turn? No, the Camp was planned to take place her. Not with the soldiers but with the kids from far away which are yet to arrive.

Thai soldiers are super friendly and a lot like humans themselves! Best of all: They love puppies! We first had to find a proper place to sleep as only accommodation consisted of military beds. So we searched and searched and found a nice place inhabited by a lot of Geckos which we declared our home for the next few days.

Afterwards, we drove by a local 7/11 (a supermarket) to finally get me a Sim Card! I am finally online!

The English Camp begin with a RAWR!

14317456_1137671099634544_2948962785710563986_n.jpg

After having the first taste of the Thai cuisine and resting for a night the Camp was ready to begin. Each of the four white volunteers got assigned 2 rows of students. Mine got the honour to be team polar-bear! As soon as we arrived at the ground with the already previously gathered participants a mumbling emerged resulting in a synchronous duet with the waves of the nearby ocean.

Concentration prior given the guy speaking upfront was lost and eyes were thrown at the new arrivals. "Suay maaaak na" "Na rak ka". (☉‿☉✿) First glimpses of Thai and I just understood that they were talking about us. No wonder being a speciality in this group.

After some questioning, I got to know that those phrases mean So beautiful! and Cute!. Aww, thank you I am feeling honoured. By the way, some Thais also called me a woman because of my ... appearance which first kinda hurt my self-esteem but I later learned to appreciate. Female energy in Thailand is big and nothing to be ashamed of!

It's not just about English - It's about life

The camp started out peacefully with an introduction and some interactive English language practises with the use of an almighty Powerpoint presentation and lots of Videos. Easy to spot was that English Camps are really needed in Thailand as although most participants have been around the age 18 just a few were capable of communication in English with us. But on the other hand, I wasn't capable of speaking Thai at that point so I cannot be too hard on them.

So after the English part of the English camp was over which was held in a very playful manner I very appreciate, it was time to show what Polar bears are made of! Glitter, Ballons and lip gloss!

Each team had to design a team flag, a poster and choose one of his rows to be the team representative. And how it had come those you wanted to show off the most ended up becoming the role. Ladyboys. Oh, I love them! They have such an alive energy. To be coming to an end, the presentation of each participant transformed into a catwalk show. Perfectly equipped even with a little dancing. And who would have guessed it? The polar bears won. Hurray!

┏(^0^)┛┗(^0^) ┓

IMG_20160917_134615672_HDR.jpg

Time to say goodbye

After the Camp was over we made an excursion to the beach. The students having arrived from the midst of Thailand with no sea around were pretty excited! And so was I! My first days in Thailand and I can already enjoy the magnificent cold-tea-warm sea. I haven't been at the beach ever since I left the camp so it was a once and only experience.

After having some fun time and watching Thai beach time (They are swimming with their shirts on because they do not want to get tanned) it was time for those lovely lads to head back home having a long journey awaiting them. Happy end: I am still connected with some of them on Facebook and enjoy seeing the journeys they are living through.
IMG_20160918_111643753_HDR.jpg

Enjoyed reading this story? Follow @rootingrobert for more to come!!

Sort:  

Yeah, communication in Thailand can be difficult from time to time but the mentality of the people is just amazing. Makes me want to go back..

That's so true. I can't even think too much about my time there because otherwise I feel sad and want to go back asap.

This post was upvoted by 3% from Operation Support sponsored with Whaleshares !

Whey! Thank you very much for your support patelincho!

You are welcome !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rootingrobert [ENFP-A] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50