A Story to Tell

in #travel6 years ago

When people hear about South Africa, it is sometimes not in a positive light. It is true that we have had a very turbulent past, with many negative things happening. It's no secret, those things are a part of our history, but if you ask many, many successful people if the road to where they are now was smooth and easy, they will give the same answer- no. Nothing of any great worth has ever come without a price.
The same is true for this beautiful land.
IMG_0642.jpg

SpaceX have just launched a rocket into space, but their early attempts were far from successful. The pioneers of flight had many attempts to get airborne before it worked. And so too with this country. It has troubles, and hardships, but running away from them will not fix them, nor will ignoring them. It is what it is. The trick for me, is to find something to balance it with. Where there is sorrow, there too can be joy. Where there is pain can be healing. I love this country. Time and time again as I drive around this beautiful land I feel a swelling in my chest, a patriotism that stirs emotion deep inside of me, and I begin to understand why men women and child fought for this land. Africa calls to the soul, and when you respond, there is no more ignoring it.
IMG_1417.jpg

I know many people who have moved to other countries, for various reasons, and they have done it because that is what they believed to be the best decision at the time for them, and I do not judge them for it. I have also seen many of those same people return to this continent, for numerous reasons, and watched as the "Spirit of the Great Heart" speaks to their soul once more.

I am an African. I am proud. It is not a soft gentle land- it can be brutal and unforgiving. It can also be majestic, incomparable, and inspiring.

Show me Africa, and I'll show you my soul.

Sort:  

Good colourcontrast photo

Thanks! The storm building in the background really helped!

Beautiful story and even more beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks, much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39