Trying Korean Barbecue in Soul 🇰🇷

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Delicious and unique

Before travelling to Korea, didn't know anyone interested in Korean food. After my trip, I became one. Reason for that was: Korean food has lots of flavour, it is so different from Western food and on top it is very healthy!

IMG_8429.JPG

Korean Food

The basis of Korean meal is steamed rice, known as Bap (밥). One can say that a Korean meal starts and ends with rice! Additionally there are soups, stews , the very famous Kimchi (김치) and other side dishes.

Kimchi

Kimchi is the most traditional dish in Korea. Made out of fermented vegetables, it can be a little spicy. It can open your apetite and be a very healthy option as a side dish.

kimchi-2337822_1920.jpg
image source

What can I drink?

The Korea's national drink is the liquor called Soju (소주) - normally produced out of rice. It can be mixed with beer to make the Somaek (소맥) (Soju + Beer). When combining with beer - watch out because you can get easily drunk :)

It is very comon when walking in the streets of Seoul late night, seeing a group of Korean businessman drunk after having one or more bottles of Soju. Working hard and afterwards socializing with the co-workers is very well looked in Korea.

bottle-2877005_1920.jpg
image source

Korean Barbecue

The korean barbecue (gogi gui고기구이) is very popular. During my visit in Soul a local brought me to this place - and I was simply amazed. Good meat quality and infinite quantity of side dishes.

Of course, I could not talk about Korean food without a restaurant recommendation :)

In case you visit the vibrant Soul, make sure you pass by the restaurant Busan Galbi (located in Itaewon neighborhood, which streets full of tourists many of them American):

https://www.tripadvisor.de/Restaurant_Review-g294197-d4034256-Reviews-Busan_Galbi-Seoul.html

IMG_8240.JPG

Friendly people

Beside the good food, koreans are very frendly and serve tourists very well, therefore, therefore, I felt like home. In case you have a good rated Korean restaurant in your neighborhood try it and let me now how your experience was.

If you liked the post, don't forget to upvote and follow me.

Thank you!

Sort:  

I love Korean dishes! When I was in Germany I knew a restaurant and liked a lot.

Good to know you enjoy it. 😉 thanks !

Korean food is so delicious, though as a pescetarian, I was a pain to be with in Seoul! Couldn't go for barbeque with my mum, and I feel like I ate squid or octopus every single day! (Let's not forget the kimchi/seafood pancakes!)

You are completely right, Korean food 🥘 is great, isn’t it?! Seafood was also in most menus I have seen and also tried a few. Did not cover the pancakes 🥞 but I might another time ! Thanks 🙏🏻 for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63