You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Travel - The Wealth of a Forgotten Past

in #travel6 years ago

"I was amazed at Louis T. Leonowens’ accomplishments as a Briton trader but more importantly, as a captain in the Siamese Royal Calvary."

Chancing on these pictures feels like kismet, as I saw Louis, and his mother, Anna, depicted on the London stage this week, with the astonishingly sweet and sonorous American actress, Kelli O'Hara, as Anna, in the Broadway transfer of "The King and I" to the West End.

Louis and Anna actually share the first song in the musical: "I Whistle a Happy Tune," though my favourite song was Anna's "Getting to Know you."

I'm told the show is banned in Thailand, for being disrespectful, though I'm not sure why, because the King, played by Ken Watanabe, was wonderfully likeable and charming.

Thailand has been on my mind for other reasons too, what with boys being dramatically rescued by brave navy divers from mysterious sunken caves, as well as a couple of wonderful Steemians, @gooddream & @teachinthai posting their own missives out of Thailand.

Seeing these oh-so-real pictures of Louis' real life gives me chills.

Sort:  

It was pretty great to me when I saw he also served in the Siamese Royal Calvary. Hope to see you visit and now's the best time because the whole country is in great spirits because the world helped save our boys. It was emotional even for me. Good emotions :)

"Appreciate you traveling with us..."
Wishing you the best, @adsactly & @stewsak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81