You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Belgium much more than just Beer, Waffles & Chocolate

in #travel7 years ago

Awesome pictures @eroche. I loved reading about your experience there. I actually wasn't expecting there to be Don Quixote statue there since Cervantes was a Spanish author.

Besides my slight (maybe large) fascination about waffles, I am curious about your experience with frites. If I am correct, frites is just another name for French fries or a type of fried potatoes. How are the frites in Belgium?

Sort:  

They are a bit of a speciality. There was a museum in Bruge covering the history and tradition of them. They are chips, but cooked in a particular way. Very different than Irish Chips.

Thanks so much for the reply. I also have a fascination with potatoes in general. How were they cooked in a different way? By Irish Chips, do those have similarities to normally how chips are made for British Chips or is it completely different?

One of my favourite topics :)

Irish Chips, come from Italian Chip shops in Ireland. There is a region in Italy where the Irish Italian community has its roots, Val Di Comino in Southern Italy. They are a particular style, thick, chunky and friend in rich oil, possibly with butter or lard and served with Salt or Vinegar. Absolutely delicious.

They look similar to British Chips but a bit heavier. I will have to post some photos.

Me too :) Wow, I actually didn't know that. I always made the assumption that they would probably be mostly like British chips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63