Why I Love Living In Northern Thailand

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Thailand is known to be a beautiful, cheap country with friendly people, good weather and great food. However, northern Thailand is more beautiful, friendlier, cheaper, with nicer food, better weather, and the best place to live ... ever!

Here are some of the reasons why I love living in northern Thailand.

The people

Thailand is known as the “land of the smiles.” You’ll certainly notice as soon as you get off the plane that Thai people seem, well, happier than people from other countries. Thailand is female friendly, gay friendly, family friendly, LGBT friendly, and, well, pretty friendly all round.

ban-chang-nai-kids.jpg

However, the further away you get from Bangkok, people become even more friendly (and nothing against BKK, I love it there as well!)

The beauty of the landscape

OK let's get some of my bad photos on Steemit. I regularly go off for motorcycle rides. Sometimes on my own; sometimes with friends.

motorcycle-thaialnd.jpg

Here's a couple of them in the above photo where we are near the "Samoeng loop" a 1-2 hour round trip you can do near Chiang Mai.

Now, I love Thailand ...

love-thailand.jpg

Here's a photo of love. It's a cafe on the way to Pai. Pai is a smallish town about 150km from Chiang Mai, where I live. It's a great journey there. I like the journey as much as the destination. Ain't that the way it should be?

The food

So, Thailand is known for it's nice, tasty food. But the food from northern Thailand is, er, more authentic.

bugs.jpg

Yes, they are what you think they are... buggy, pupae, type things. Yum! Here's some Burmese food.

burmese-food.jpg

And here's some Thai food.

fish-with-blue-flowers.jpg

I forget the same of that fish and the blue flower you eat with it but it's delicious. (Can you tell I'm not a foody?)

papaya-salad-with-prawns.jpg

And the above looks like a papaya salad which is from the northeastern region, not from the north but, take it from me, the food is great here. I really haven't scratched the surface.

It's cheap

Again, the north is one of the cheapest regions in Thailand. OK, let's talk prices...

You can spend $180-350 on rent here and get perfectly acceptable apartment in a condo near the center of town.

condos-in-chiang-mai.jpg

Here are some condos in Jed Yot near the Maya Shopping Center.

And here is a more expensive apartment in Nimman.

apartment-in-niman.jpg

Here I'm drinking a beer from Laos not Thailand!

rob-and-beer-lao.jpg

But if that was a Leo or Chang it would cost you a $1 or a little bit more depending on where you buy it from.

And coffee would be less.

And a meal like this:

pad-thai.jpg

... in a restaurant could be $1.50-2.

It's cheap.

The weather

Thailand is a tropical country north of the equator. It gets really hot around April. The best time to come is during the winter in the northern hemisphere, so come between September and February/March.

beautiful-thialand.jpg

The weather at that time is beautiful up here in northern Thailand. It's high up and hilly so it's not as hot as the rest of the country. And, it never rains at this time.

May through to August is the rainy season. But this also means that it isn't too hot. Now it's July (as far as tourism is concerned it's "low season") and I'm loving the weather here at the moment.

The internet

Someone asked me about this so I should put this in. THE INTERNET IS GREAT HERE. 4G on phones, wifi in the apartments, and cafes, etc., is cheap and pretty fast. Better than the UK where I'm from.

The reason I moved here

I actually came to Chiang Mai because there's a community of internet entrepreneurs living here (I will talk about this more in other posts). And that's great as well. But even though that's why I came. It's not why I stay. I stay for all the other reasons.

Calm Keep, On Steem, and To Thailand Come!

make-money-on-steemit.png

Sort:  

Great post. I want to move there now.

hehe, I should work for the thai tourist authority. Thank you @ebejammin

Hey Rob. I found this post from your YouTube video. The Steemit post is really great with the added photos! It looks like a really peaceful place to live compared to urban cities in the UK.

thank you @tomasgeorge I like to add extra original content here instead of just pasting a YouTube video.

wow of course I need to go there, good post, a big hug from Venezuela :) I followed you.

oh wow, I need to go to Venezuela as well lol. Thank you for your comment

Welcome, yes, I invite you to know my country, it have a lot of good places :)

This post has received a 2.13 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @robcubbon.

Great post i love Thailand, I live in bali. followed you :)

@stig-of-the-dump thank you. Dang, never been to Bali. I really must go soon

Congratulations @robcubbon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, @robcubbon I am from Chiang Mai too and happy to see I am not alone. May be one day we can meet and share a drink. I live here for 18 years and I really love it too. Hope to see you

Hey @ricko66 it would be great if we could sort out a Chiang Mai Steemit meetup. There's a bitcoin/crypto meetup on Thursday nights. Do you go to that?

I am on the way to organize one and I am happy to know that one Steemian is here so we will join our forces to get it even better. I am very interested to come to the Bitcoin/crypto meet up on next Thursday lets get in touch on steemit.chat and organize it. :) my name is ricko66

Interesting to know about the northern part of Thailand; I would like to know how is the nightlife there, I know it's nothing​ to compare with Patong-Phuket or Pattaya or Bangkok; which is the best place to meet regular nice women in Thailand? Thanks.

@mrkenzo1950 yeah, Chiang Mai isn't famous for its nightlife – although there's the usual options of bars, restaurants, clubs, and live music – it's kinda all over at 12 midnight. As a 50 year old divorcee with no girlfriend, I'm not best placed to answer your question! But I will say that who you meet and spend time with is a reflection of you – it doesn't matter where you are. But that's a bit woo-woo for most people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18