Western franchise restaurants in Pakistan, a Review

in #travel7 years ago

I wasn't really surprised by these global franchises being in Pakistan. Although I did expect them to be a little different from what I am used to, but homogenisation is strong with these franchises.

Pizza hut seems to be the most prolific chain. I'm not a fan of the pizza hut. The cheese over here is a bit different, so finding a nice vegetarian pizza is difficult as taste is highly dependent on the cheese. I haven't heard any meat eaters over here complaining about the cheese; probably because the meat is so good over here. I wouldn't know though as I am a vegetarian. Sorry for having to tell you that.

Above Osama Bin Laden's local pizza hut.

Subway really blew my mind. Walking into it made me feel like I could be in any other Subway in the world. I couldn't believe how identical the subways over here were to all the other subways I have been to.

Everything was the same.

The subway clock.

Same ingredients, same sauces (chipotle 😇), same cookies...

Although they didn't have the cookie and a drink meal deal which was rather unfortunate. The meal deal is just with a drink, so buying the extra cookie makes the consumer feel glutonous instead of having the meal deal to hide behind.
"Oh well I suppose I must go for the cookie for the sake of the meal deal..."

They also don't do the secret off-menu three cheese melt. I learnt about this in the UK several years ago, and being a vegetarian I wanted an option of something nice to eat in Subway instead of just veg and bread... or the veggie pattie 😧 bluegh!
I got around this by telling the Subway sandwich artist "No meat, just put cheese on it... yep.... keep piling it on... hmmm... yeah a bit more... just a little... oh perfect thanks!"

The global obesity factory. They don't serve anything vegetarian other than chips, and side things like McFlurries. They serve classic McDonald chips. Unfortunately no curry sauce, bbq sauce, mayo... they just have garlic chilli and ketchup. Garlic chilli and ketchup seem to be the standard. Mayonnaise does exists, and mostly it is good.

KFC seems to be the second most prolific chain in Pakistan. It is relatively cheap. I believe the meat is sourced nationally instead of being heavily shipped from South America, as is the case for the UK.

I've tried the chips from KFC in Muree and Multan. Tasted like standard KFC chips. Not as good as those McDonald ones yo!

Classic KFC customers! They never know where the bin is.

Motor oil.... noice!

Mr Cod.

There are countless other chains. TGIF's, Burger King, etc... anyway I'm a vegetarian and don't really have any place in these establishments.

Pizza hut 4/10 (Bluegh cheese)

Subway 6/10 (I would give it 7 but the coffee yo! They just aren't caffeine addicts in this country so they don't know any better... I forgive them)

McDonalds 0/10 (Coffee again yo! And also for promoting obesity in adults and children)

KFC 3/10 (Those solid KFC chips, not as good as McDonalds chips) 2/10 (Just remembered I tried to order coffee once, but they had none.)

Mr Cod 1/10 (The chips were oily horrible and NO coffee! Why do they have the coffee machines?)

What's this? Coffee in a cafetiere?
As well as having an ample supply of the substandard Western chains, Pakistan also has it's own franchises. The above photo is from Chaaye Khana. I ordered a mushroom cheese omelette, mushroom and cheese samosas, and beautiful coffee 💓

9/10

Sort:  

Haha, maybe they fry the KFC in the motor oil too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73