Yashas' Travelogue #1- Meadow of Gold in Himalayas - Experience of solo camping on Himalayas in freezing temperatures ( Photos Inside )

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My experience of camping in a heaven where sun rays fall on the meadow to turn everything golden. Let me take you through the exciting journey of Himalayan camping.

Sonmarg Morning Bike View.jpg

Riding through the Kashmir valley was just an amazing experience. I was riding solo on the mountains and my shadow grew longer. It was time to enter the Sonmarg valley after an eventful 2 hours of ride. I had planned to camp here on the grassland even as it got severely cold with each passing minute.

Sonmarg night camp.jpg

Sonmarg Morning View2.jpg

Beware of Bears!!

I was guided by the Indian army from the bear site where I had initially stopped, to the camp site. Yes!! Beware of bear impact areas. I pitched in my tent and decided to spend my night on the new spot as guided by Indian Army soldiers. The sight which welcomed me to the next dawn was heavenly. Not every day one gets to rise to witness the beautiful Kashmir Valley. Temperatures dropped and went to single digit as the sun rays went down.

Sonmarg Laptop.jpg

Early morning awesomeness!!

My heart skipped a beat and happiness grew exponentially. Nature has so much to offer here in this beautiful valley. Snow clad white mountains on one side and green mountains enveloped with alpine trees on the other side. The golden rays of sun paints the valley in the best imaginable manner. Himalayan horses relaxing around the valley brings in a whole new flavor to the sight.

Sonmarg Horses.jpg

Dew drops on the bike enhanced the golden color that mother nature bestowed on this amazing valley. Sonmarg may be a small valley, but it has all that makes it a perfect travel destination. People here can make a living only during summers. They migrate to other parts of Kashmir during winters.

Sonmarg View.jpg

It was a once an experience to cherish with lots of memories taken back

PS: All the images are original clicked by me and watermarked.

Lets grow together and build a strong community.

The travel adventure stories continue.. if you like what you see upvote and follow

Sort:  

Great photos, the Himalayas look amazing, I'd love to visit one day :)

@samuel-earp-art we would love to host you here, just remember the day you decide to visit Himalayas, you have a friend here who would take u around this beautiful country and beautiful mountains... we respect all or guests :)

Thrilled to see your solo trip to Himalaya...amazing..
Following you..
Check my posts @athavan

@athavan - Excited to see you recognize my content on travel, very glad to see that...:)

following

looks great brother , awesome experience!!

@bigdee - Thanks a lot, would love to share lots of other experiences with the community... :)

If you like what u see, do upvote and follow... lets stay connected for the mutual interest of travel :)

Nice post! Upvoted, resteemed & followed!
Keep it up :)

@pjo - Thank you, the way this community has welcomed me is just fantastic, looking forward to sharing lots of my travel stories with equal dedication... :)

What a great spot to camp! Majestic scenery all around.

@countryinspired - Thank you for taking some time out to appreciate my post... If you happen to come to India let me know, will take u to that exact same spot :)

I don't know if I will ever make it there. My close friend, however, is married to a woman from India and has been able to travel over there to see her homeland.

@countryinspired - Hopefully we will have a steemfest in India too, once I make a mark will surely invite you home... we treat our guest with utmost respect and love... :)

What a beautiful place & photos!

Are those orbs on photo number 2?

Thank you Maria for the kind words, yes those are orbs caused due to flash of Indian Military check posts, it is a very sensitive area along our international border...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26