Small Town China: Nanxiashu 南夏墅镇

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Travels on an ebike in China can not only remind you that you are a foreigner in a foreign land, but also that the urban centers of the small city you live in is actually much more cosmopolitan than what you think. I used to live in the southern part of Changzhou's Wujin district. I left after two years because, well, I got bored and all I did was surf the internet and a lot of drink beer. I thought there was no places to go, nowhere to conveniently meet other expats, and so one. However, during my stay there, I thought to venture even more south within the city's prefecture boundaries, and I ended up in Nanxiashu. The differences between that and the boring place I lived were a bit pronounced. 



Literally, the most interesting thing I saw were two camels and a dog. This was outside the grounds of an elementary school. The school was letting out, and the camels were there as a special treat the kids could hang out with. In all of this, the dog looked a little bit bored. 



I initially went down there to search for a revolutionary martyr's memorial that was listed on Baidu Maps. While I still look for these things, this was one of the first times I realized that these things are not really tourist attractions. Most of them are actual graveyards, and they are just background scenery in the day to day lives of the local Chinese. In Nanxiashu, their memorial to the Civil War / Revolution that brought the communists to power was closed off pillar. 



...which was also surrounded by a murky moat with lots of algae. But the biggest thing I have realized about small town China -- around Changzhou, let me qualify that -- is this ...



It's quickly being developed to look like the rest of Changzhou. A lot of the residential high rises in the area look the same. It's like developers are taking the same architectural blue prints and copying them over and over and over again. It's like a real life version of the game Sim City. No matter where you go, a lot of the buildings look exactly the same. It's like the developers were looking at a map on their computer, clicked on a tract of land, and double clicked "residential complex" in a Sim City interface. 

Sort:  

The camel and the dog hahaha

Lol i feel you man i grew up in Hong Kong and would always take road trips up to Shenzen and Guangzhou ... Chinese love to sim city build their country lol. You into Antshares by chance?

I must say you have been so adventurous in terms of travelling in China

OMG that honestly looks like the most fun thing I have ever seen.

Love the bike so damn retro.

Thanks for the little tour of that part of China that I will probably never have the chance to visit.

thanks for reading!

Thanks for this post. I was planning a Shanghai trip in the near future, but looks like you just changed my mind to Changzhou :)

More like stop on your way to Shanghai, but totally go to Shanghai.

hhah gotcha gotcha buddy :)

thank you for sharing

An ebike? Those are electric right? How far can you go on one of those things on a charge?

Mine is more like an electric motorcycle. Plus, I paid for extra batteries. Once fully charged, I can go over 100 kilometers, and I have never fully tested its full range.

Congratulations @richristow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post and I enjoyed these pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59239.80
ETH 2662.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48