First Time to Kunshan

in #travel7 years ago


Kunshan is a small county level city in Southern Jiangsu, and it's between Suzhou and Shanghai. Administratively, it belongs to Suzhou's prefecture. After about a year and a half, I realized I had never been there, and it's not that hard to get to. So, I figured I would go for a visit. Usually, my first times in a city involve just wandering around the greater trainstation area. Kunshan has two in close proximity, and my walk actually involved going back and forth between them. By far, the weirdest thing I saw involved surreal looking deer. The above photo was near the central station and a mall with Starbucks. The above deer was part of a group of three.



Weird looking painted deer are all over the place here. Here are just two examples. 



There was also a rather trippy basketball court. 



However, I found this a little more interesting. It's one of the more ornate Chinese Christian churches I have seen in the region. 




From there, it was back to Kunshan South Station.



There, I found a statue to a common practice of what people do while waiting for trains, these days. 



As a first visit to a place I have never been before, this was more eventful than others. I also figured out how to get one of China's famous and ancient watertowns. Kunshan is home to it, but it's a bit of a bus ride. So, next time on that. Likely next week for me. 

Sort:  

Wow! I thought those deers were trees at first 😅

Very very nice post :) Thank you. Upvoted and followed ! Great:)

Visionary post...vivid picture of the city is represented in the words and pictures...

Thanks. I do a lot stuff like this. Just haven't been on steemit that regularly in a while.

Oh, what a wonderful deer. This is a great idea for my garden) Without jokes, this architecture is beautiful. You have done a wonderful review!

That's pretty wild, from looking at the first image I thought it was just a tree behind the deer.

hey nice man, and being an expat you need to join our Discord Expat server, here's the invite: https://discord.gg/SByVHR

Hi, Sir, the link is not working anymore. Could you update?

Hi,Sir, the link is not working anymore, could you update it?

The link is not working.

The link is not working, Could you send me the new link to [email protected].

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72