Exploring Pudong New District: Shenchun Hotel

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes, when you do not make hotel reservations and half-ass plans for international travel, you end up in weird places. A few weeks ago, I was trying to make my way from Changzhou to New Jersey for my yearly family visit. I mistakenly thought I could go a day in advance and stay at the on-site hotel airport. Of course, it was fully booked with no available rooms. Pudong is one of China's most busy international air ports. So, I ended up being shuttled to an area about seven kilometers away. I had issues with my airline that lead to a rebooking, and as a result, I had to stay for a few days what felt like an utterly remote part of Shanghai. This was my eventual hotel....


Shenchen Hotel looks like a scummy dive on the outside. However, my room was clean, I had wifi, and a functioning shower. Actually, I have stayed at worst hotels in China, so this wasn't all that bad. Plus, the 198 RMB a night was actually a bargain. Still, sometimes you get what you pay for. 


And that involves staying next to a dirty, smelly canal along a back street in a small town. 



Where people live on barges and boats. 



The area did have a working class China feel. However, once I got out and walked around, the area -- named Jiangzhen on Baidu maps -- I began to notice that the whole area seemed to cater to overflow passengers from Pudong International. I just happened to end up at the cheaper side of that small town. More on that later. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55