Mt Ulap Experience

in #travel7 years ago

Itogon, Benguet. Benguet tourism opened Mt. Ulap to hikers last year. From the stories I've heard, the climb guarantees stunning views - from forest pine trees, flora and fauna, stunning 360 views from its surrounding mountains and vast greeneries. Unfortunately, the thick fog that welcomed us during the trek rendered an almost zero visibility. On top of that, the rain was so hard that afternoon since an LPA entered PAR a day before our scheduled climb. That being said, I already expected a "no clearing" mode.

The good thing about group hiking is the opportunity to meet new friends and widening your network. I met and made new friends during this trip.

The Climb

A narrow and steep concrete stairs and a number of hanging bridges led to the mouth of the Ulap trail. The rain started to pour down when we started the grueling hike to the campsite. The slope was steep, a consistent 60 degrees more or less. So imagine the effort and the energy we had to put into our climb. Add to that the biting cold and the darkness of the night closely settling in. With every step, I felt my leg muscles tighten as it supported my body weight and my fully-packed bag. We took a lot of breaks to catch our breath and shoot some selfies and groufies. When we reached the store near the camp site, we made a final stop to have coffee and chit chat with my fellow Igorots inhabiting the place.

The Campsite

It was already night fall when we reached the campsite. More or less 20 tents had been set up already by other campers. Our spot was just at the foot of the mountain's summit. My friends started unpacking and setting up our tents so we can finally settle in as it was so cold. Not as cold as Mt. Pulag's though. Nevertheless, it is still cold even if the heavens stopped pouring its waters already. The night sky was filled with stars so we were a bit optimistic that we will have a clearing for tomorrow's sunrise at the summit. However, the PM side of me is trying to manage my expectation. Yeah, I was managing my expectations for the next day as early as 10PM, under the night sky with all the constellations staring back at me!

The Summit

We ascended the summit @ 6AM. As expected, there was no clearing. We were optimistic, though. But when 30 minutes has passed, I already knew that we won't see the sunrise. We resorted to taking pictures and exchanging stories before we decided to go down the campsite and have our breakfast and eventually break camp.

The Descent

We broke camp at 8:30 in the morning; and started our traverse descent almost 9AM. The rain started pouring again. The fog settled low in the entirety of our walk back to Ampucao jump off. When we reached the famous Gungal rock, visibility is still a problem due to the thick fog enveloping the whole area. Aside from that, a number of hikers are lined up to take their pictures and stunts on the edge of that rock formation. I saw one rock formation towering all other rocks and made my attempt to test out my rock climbing skills. I successfully made it to the top and took some photos down below. I managed to ask my friend to take a photo of me when one of the guides were shouting "Ma'am bumaba po kayo. Bawal po jan, delikado. Kasalanan po namin pag may nangyari sa inyo." Oh well, I didn't know that is was against the rules to climb the rock. Only when I decided to descend that I realized that it is indeed difficult to make your way down. It was real steep and rock has not much fissures to hold on to. My friends were shouting for help already when they saw me struggling to find footing. I managed to safely get down anyways. We didn't get the chance to explore Gungal rock that day because there were too many hikers in queue. So we continued our descent. We looked for alternative rock formations to take pictures from along the way. And there are a lot more beautiful options to choose from. We did some photo stunts one to many times until we finally completed the stretch of the eco-trail.

Grumpy Joe's

After we freshened up, we headed to Grumpy Joe for dinner. I have to say, the food tasted so good in my palate. No, it is not just because I was so exhausted and hungry. The food was really GREAT! And it is not to pricey. I requested for a picture taking with the chef, and luckily, he indulged.

Lessons Learned

I always say that every mountain has a story tell and a lesson to give. Mt. Ulap taught me perseverance in a different light. It is said that hiking up is optional but going down is mandatory. I have to say, I wanted to give up during our ascent. But then again, my previous learnings of perseverance kept on ringing in my head: "You are already a step further away from where you were..."

I learned that in order for me to reach the peak, I have to unload my baggage. I have to give up my bag. I rationalized with myself as I never in my entire hiking experience ask anyone to carry my bag for me. It is more of my pride talking. You know what I mean, if you have an ego as big as mine. But this time, the lengthy steeped slope took a toll on my back and by hips are already sore and aching as I'm expecting my monthly friend to pay me a visit the next day. I decided to ask the guide to carry my bag as we ascended the final assault. I speak their vernacular, which is a good deal of advantage. I politely asked our guide that he carry my bag. In exchange, I will carry the ones he has on his hands.

This taught me humility. This taught me that we should know when to ask for help and that we should do it politely. I have learned that in our journey to the top, we should know when to give up some baggage and let other carry it for us. And that we should be thankful for the help we were extended.

The journey to mountains summit is all about the lessons you learn. It is not about conquering the mountain at all. Because it is not the peak that we conquer, but ourselves.

Thank you, Mt. Ulap for another lesson learned!!
13886494_10153947072685787_2839381927442328190_n.jpg
13902829_10153947073010787_1349951697199220266_n.jpg
13907176_10153947147205787_6446710331658214587_n.jpg13876251_10153947073980787_5600485059927851330_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @rhenabeth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43