La Bestia de Oro, a memory of Ljubljana and an artist traveler.

in #travel8 years ago

I am an artist from Argentina, living in Slovenia. This will be a simple post, with no much writing, just to see if it suits more this context.
This is a collection of watercolour-drawings in format A3 that I made in Ljubljana in 2010 after taking the decision of staying here. The black line is made with Indian ink and a plume on cotton paper.
It was a special moment. I had already some Slovenian and Balkan friends and I felt like entering a new era of my life in a reality full of possibilities and support, a peaceful place to rest and create after 13 years of constant travel.
I went to the libraries and study the work of the painters of the past. You will recognize famous fragments of the great masters.
I wanted somehow to call their inspiration to my work, so I quoted details of their paintings and mix them with portraits of architecture from Ljubljana and human faces that I used to draw for years. I also added poetry or thoughts that were crossing my mind at the moment of making the images. The texts are all in Spanish or Croatian and talk about my past experiences and the new ones that were preparing the future.
I hope you enjoy!
This is “The Beast of Gold”.

I will translate the texts on the left side:
“HE WAS NOT THERE AND SHE, WITHOUT BEING THERE, WAS SO MUCH THERE”
(you can see that my English translation skills are very very…)

“Now in this glory of sun and development, with all my armies marching in the same direction, I just have to activate my Beast of Gold. Put her out to the vast space near where the Poets are resting. Then everything will come back again effortlessly”
“AS ABOVE SO BELLOW”
“I have to change several chips in my system. Diminishing conceptions that were transferred to me in the very beginning, together with the love and caring of my parents.”

And the texts on the right:
“Allied to my Beautiful Beast I will offer forgiveness. And the celebration will become a static dance”

THE ART I CAME. THE ART IS COMING TO ME. I WON’T DIE ANYMORE.

This is “The Secret of the Cyclops”

The text on the right says:
“Here, they told me, dwells the spirit of Austria. And I say, here dwells the homage to the Love in all its forms: festive, tormented, but always on the top of emotive human values.”

“From AAI (this is the name of the artistic collective I belong to - Articulacion Artisitca Internacional)
We pretend to erode once more The Art.”

This is the last painting and is called “The Door of a New Time Zone”

The text says : “
I arrive to the door of a new Time Zone. For now I stop here. But they have opened the door.”

Well, that is all for now.
I am curious about the popularity of an almost only image type of post.
See u next time!

Sort:  

These are incredible pictures and very imaginative. Thank you for sharing. I love how they all fit together

Hey thanks man! the fitting of different images is something we see all the time in Latin american mural painting. maybe is also a relfexion of my mind having to cope for years with so many places and inner transformations. I checked one of your posts and coment it . I am glad that you wrote. your input came right in the moment when I thought this site was not appreciating content but mainly quick atention and mecaninc votings without reading just to get another vote in exchange. Good! very good is something else!

thanks! i will take a look to your last one! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31